A+ A A-

2016 Football Preliminary Nominees Announced

We here at have been open about the fact that we modeled both our Fictitious Athlete and Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in regards to the Preliminary, Semi-Final and Finalists rounds.  As such, we are very excited that the preliminary nominees for the 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame have been announced. 

The nominees (and the respective ranking they have if they are on the Football list) are below.

An “x” denotes that he is a returning Finalist, a “y” that he is a first year nominee.


Drew Bledsoe (#77)

y-Brett Favre (#1)

Steve McNair (#94)

Phil Simms (#48)

Vinny Testaverde

x-Kurt Warner (#28)

Running Backs:

Shaun Alexander

Ottis Anderson (#50)

Tiki Barber (#67)

Roger Craig (#11)

Stephen Davis

x-Terrell Davis (#21)

Eddie George

Priest Holmes

Edgerrin James (#17)

Daryl Johnston

Jamal Lewis

y-Clinton Portis

Herschel Walker (#35)

Ricky Watters (#36)

y-Brian Westbrook

Wide Receivers:

Isaac Bruce (#23)

Gary Clark (#53)

Henry Ellard (#76)

x-Marvin Harrison (#3)

Torry Holt (#9)

y-Terrell Owens (#7)

Sterling Sharpe (#46)

Jimmy Smith (#100)

Rod Smith (#54)

Tight Ends:

Mark Bavaro (#98)

Jay Novacek (#89)

Offensive Tackles:

Tony Boselli

Jim Covert

Joe Jacoby (#62)

Jon Jansen

Mike Kenn (#99)

Jim Lachey

x-Orlando Pace (#15)

Chris Samuels

Offensive Guards:

y-Alan Faneca (#5)

Chris Hinton (#68)

Kevin Mawae (#16)

Mark May

Nate Newton

Mark Schlereth

Steve Wisniewski (#26)


Jeff Bostic

Jay Hilgenberg (#71)

Kent Hull

Tom Nalen  

Defensive Ends:

Dexter Manley

Charles Mann

Leslie O’Neal

Simeon Rice

Defensive Tackles:

Fred Smerlas

Bryant Young


Cornelius Bennett

Tedy Bruschi

y-Keith Bulluck

x-Kevin Greene (#37)

Ken Harvey

Levon Kirkland

Clay Matthews

Willie McGinest

Karl Mecklenburg (#65)

Matt Millen

Sam Mills (#85)

Zach Thomas

y-Mike Vrabel


Eric Allen (#44)

Ty Law (#60)

Albert Lewis

Shawn Springs

Troy Vincent

Everson Walls


Steve Atwater (#19)

Joey Browner

LeRoy Butler (#79)

Rodney Harrison (#96)

x-John Lynch (#57)

Lawyer Milloy

y-Darren Sharper (#66)

Darren Woodson


x-Morten Andersen (#83)

Gary Anderson

y-John Carney

Jason Elam

Nick Lowery


Sean Landeta

Special Teams:

y-Ethan Albright

Brian Mitchell

Steve Tasker


x-Don Coryell

Bill Cowher

x-Tony Dungy

Tom Flores

Mike Holmgren

x-Jimmy Johnson

Chuck Knox

Buddy Parker

Richie Petitbon

Dan Reeves

Pete Rodriguez

Lou Saban

Marty Schottenheimer

Clark Shaughnessy

Dick Vermeil

The Semi-Finalists will be announced in November following an announcement for the Finalists prior to the NFL Playoffs.  The day before the Super Bowl, the full Class of 2016 will be unveiled.

Any surprises?  Any glaring ommisions?

As always, we here at will be keeping our eyes on this one!

Subscribe to this RSS feed