Our Fictitious Rock and Roll HOF Announces the 2016 Class!

Our Fictitious Rock and Roll HOF Announces the 2016 Class!
31 Dec
Not in Hall of Fame

After three rounds and a full year of public online voting, the Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced their second full class.

Joining last year’s first class of The Blues Brothers, Spinal Tap and the Monkees are Gorillaz and Tenacious D. 

Like last year, these selections can be considered controversial as both groups certainly blur the line between real and fictional.

Gorillaz were this year’s runaway leader in the votes.  Created by Blue front man, Damon Albarn and comic genius, Jamie Hewlett, Gorillaz is a virtual band complete with four animated members:

2D (lead vocals & keyboard), Murdoc Niccals (bass guitar & vocals), Noodle (guitar, keyboard and backing vocals) and Russel Hobbs (drums).  Each member has a distinct backstory and have actually toured live, sometimes fronted by animation and sometimes by the actual performers behind the group.

Tenacious D were also chosen.  While they comprise comedic actors, Kyle Gass and Jack Black, they did have their own televsion program and had a fictionalized origin story film, “The Pick of Destiny”, thus “qualifying” them for the Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. 

These two inductees beat out the following finalists (in order of their vote totals) in the Final Round:

- Sex Bob-Omb (Scott Pilgrim Vs the World)

- The Be-Sharps (The Simpsons)

- Dr. Teeth & the Electric Mayhem (The Muppets)

- Wyld Stallyns (Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure)

- Jerome “Chef” McElroy (South Park)

- The School of Rock (School of Rock)

- Phoebe Buffay (Friends)

- Michigan J. Frog (Looney Tunes)

- Marvin Berry and the Starlighters (Back to the Future)

- Alvin and the Chipmunks

- The Wonders (That Thing You Do!)

- The Archies (The Archie Show)

- Hannah Montana (Hannah Montana)

Voting is now open for the Preliminary round for the 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Class, which can be found here.

Like last year, there will be a Preliminary round leading to 40 Semi-Finalist Candidates, which will pared down to 15 Finalists. 

You know what we want you to do!

Take a look at the next batch of nominees and cast your votes for who should comprise the 2017 Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code