RIP: Vader Not in Hall of Fame News

It is another sad day in the world of Professional Wrestling as…

20th Jun, 2018 Read More
Rod Woodson discusses T.O. not going to the Hall of Fame Not in Hall of Fame News

Terrell Owens has really made himself the centerpiece of this year’s Pro…

19th Jun, 2018 Read More
Our WWE List has been updated Not in Hall of Fame News

First off, our apologies as this took longer than anticipated, but we…

15th Jun, 2018 Read More
Georgia Tech Names their 2018 HOF Class Not in Hall of Fame News

Georgia Tech has announced its seven person Athletic Hall of Fame Class…

14th Jun, 2018 Read More
Ronda Rousey named to the UFC HOF Not in Hall of Fame News

During the UFC 225 card it was announced that Ronda Rousey will…

10th Jun, 2018 Read More
Terrell Owens to skip the HOF ceremony Not in Hall of Fame News

Wow… Terrell Owens was selected to join the Pro Football Hall of…

7th Jun, 2018 Read More
Surrender History of Number One Songs

March 20 – April 2, 1961 Elvis Presley Surrender

23rd Jun, 2018 Read More
Pony Time History of Number One Songs

February 27 – March 19, 1961 Chubby Checker Pony Time

23rd Jun, 2018 Read More
Calcutta History of Number One Songs

February 13 – 26, 1961 Lawrence Welk and his Orchestra Calcutta

23rd Jun, 2018 Read More
Fabricio Werdum fails USADA drug test MMA Stuff with Anabel

Nobody was expecting such a shocking news coming from the former UFC…

30th May, 2018 Read More
Concert Report 2018: Poison and Cheap Trick DDT's Pop Flies

You've heard the saying, "Every man has his price"? For me, it's…

22nd May, 2018 Read More
Wonderland by Night History of Number One Songs

January 9 – 29, 1961 Bert Kaempfert and his Orchestra Wonderland by…

14th May, 2018 Read More
Interview with Johnny Mantell, President of the Pro Wrestling Hall of Fame Interviews

Three years ago I interviewed Stan Hansen for my website…

Interview with Jarrod Bunch: Former New York Giant and current actor. Interviews

Often when I conduct an interview for, I have…

Interview with Former Denver Bronco, Orson Mobley Interviews

         To get to the play in…

Interview with "Jumpin" Jim Brunzell Interviews

It was about two years ago that I had the…

Interview with Kareem Rush Interviews

The athletics and the arts aren’t supposed to be intertwined,…

Hall of Fame Debates

Visit the Fictitious Halls of Fame!


You May Also Like...


Concert Report 2018: Poison and Cheap Trick DDT's Pop Flies

You've heard the saying, "Every man has his price"? For me, it's…

If I Had a Vote in the 2018 Baseball Hall of Fame Election DDT's Pop Flies

Strategic voting. What you have to do when you have too many…

Project/Object Live Music Head

Project/Objectan interview with André Cholmondeleyby Live Music HeadOriginally published at on…

A Conversation with Greg Wyard Live Music Head

A Conversation with Greg Wyardby Live Music Head“A good song is like…


375. Akira Taue WWE

There were a lot of heavy hitters in All-Japan in the late…

374. Neff Maiava WWE

Neff Maiava was not the most accomplished wrestler in the world or…

50. Elton Brand Basketball

A former number one overall draft pick after being the NCAA player…

3. Kevin Garnett Basketball

Kevin Garnett was the first player drafted in twenty years to come…

It is another sad day in the world of Professional Wrestling as Leon White “Vader” passed away due to congestive heart failure at the age of 63.

White got into professional wrestling after a brief career in the National Football League where he most notably appeared for the Los Angeles Rams in the Super Bowl. A patella injury forced him out of the game but like so many football players at the time he moved to the world of professional wrestling.

Trained by Brad Rheingans, White would be given the name of “Baby Bull” Leon White, which would later morph into “Bull Power”. He was not a top of the card guy but his size made him an instant attraction and an asset coveted by other promotions. The first to take advantage of that was New Japan Pro Wrestling and they did not waste anytime making him an instant star.

Directly following a successful win over Riki Choshu, the now named Big Van Vader challenged and soundly thrashed a tired Antonio Inoki, which led to a riot at the Sumo Hall. The promotion was subsequently banned from the facility for nearly two years but Vader instantly became a major star in Japan.

This would usher in the best period of Vader’s career. He would win an eight-man tournament where he would win the vacant IWGP Heavyweight Title and in the process would become the first gaijin to win the belt. During his second reign with the championship (beating Choshu for the belt) he would make wrestling history by becoming a World Champion on three different continents at the same time. He beat El Canek in Mexico to win the UWA Title and Otto Wanz to capture the Catch Wrestling belt.

With continued success in Japan and Europe Vader would be also used by World Championship Wrestling albeit sparingly for the first two years. He would defeat Sting for the WCW Heavyweight Title in 1992 and his series of matches with him were among the best in the company. The big man would win the championship three times and would also have notable feuds with Ric Flair and Cactus Jack. He would be fired from the company following a backstage confrontation with Paul Orndorff, but by that time the WWF was calling.

His first match for the WWF was a performance at the Royal Rumble where he was introduced with Jim Cornette as his manager. Vader was positioned as a monster heel and top contender and after he went through former champion Yokozuna it was expected that he would have a long run against WWF World Heavyweight Champion, Shawn Michaels. The two would fight at Summer Slam 1996 but the two did not mesh and Michael’s political stroke would push him slowly down the card. He would have later title matches against the Undertaker but his last year in the company (1998) would see him losing match after match and essentially being regulated to a “jobber to the stars”.

While Vader was not the same physical specimen he was earlier in the decade he was still a name and he was rejuvenated. He won the All-Japan Triple Crown twice, the Tag Title with “Dr. Death” Steve Williams and would also later win the Pro Wrestling NOAH Tag Titles with Scorpio.

Throughout the 2000’s and early 2010’s Vader would compete independently.

Vader announced through Social Media that due to his heart issues his doctor had given him only two weeks to live though despite his announced illness, Vader continued to work independents with his most notable performance being a win over Will Ospreay that took place over a Twitter war.

In recent months, Mick Foley had mentioned on his Facebook page that he would like to see Vader enter the WWE Hall of Fame while he was still alive. Obviously any induction now would be posthumous. We had him ranked at #24 on our Notinhalloffame list.

We here at would like to extend our condolences to the friends and family of Leon White at this time.

Wednesday, 20 June 2018 16:54