The Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces the 2020 Finalists

The Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces the 2020 Finalists
07 Nov
Not in Hall of Fame

One of our pet projects, the Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the Finalists for the Class of 2020, which will be the 6th full class. 

The Finalists were decided by all of you, after being pared down from other 500 Preliminary Nominees, to a group of Semi-Finalists.

Whoever gets inducted this year, will join these previous inductees:

Spinal Tap, The Monkees, The Blues Brothers, Gorillaz, Tenacious D, Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem, Wyld Stallyns, Alvin and the Chipmunks, The Wonders, Bleeding Gums Murphy, Otis Day and the Nights and Stillwater.

This year’s Finalists are:

Buckaroo Banzai and the Hong Kong Cavaliers (The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the Eighth Dimension):  What couldn’t these renaissance men do?   This is their third time reaching the Semi-Finals, and their second time as a Finalist

Don Music (Sesame Street):  A first time Semi-Finalist, and also a first-time Finalist, Don Music will never get it!  Never!

Figrin D’An and the Modal Nodes (Star Wars):  The house band at the Mos Eisley Cantina was also a finalist last year.  No band can bounce back after seeing a fatality better than this one.

Josie and the Pussycats (Josie and the Pussycats):  From Riverdale, they went to outer space and back again and are now a three-time Finalist.

Leather Tuscadero (Happy Days):  Do the Fonzie!  This is the first Semi-Finalist and Finalist appearance for the Milwaukee based rocker from the late 1950s.

Marvin Berry and the Starlighters (Back to the Future):  This was the band that played at the Enchantment Under the Sea Dance in 1955.  Marty McFly played with them for one song.  They are a Finalist for the third time.

Nick Rivers (Top Secret!):  Rivers was a teen idol and a war spy.  This is quite the unique combination, right?  This is the second time for Rivers as a Semi-Finalist, and is now a Finalist for the first time.

Phoebe Buffay (Friends):  Buffay is now a two-time Finalist and a regular at Central Perk in New York City.  

Rowlf the Dog (The Muppets):  Could the piano playing dog join Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem in the Hall?  Rowlf is now a three-time Finalist.

Sex Bob-Omb (Scott Pilgrim VS The World:  Sex Bob-Omb is a three-time Finalist who competed in the Toronto International Battle of the Bands.  They are two-time Finalists.

The Archies (The Archies):  In 1970, they had a number 1 hit in the “Real World” with “Sugar Sugar”. They have been Finalists three times before.

The Banana Splits (The Banana Splits):  Half live action, half animation, but all cheese! The Banana Splits captured the imagination of kids in the late 60s, and they are three-time Finalists.

The Be Sharps (The Simpsons):  Former Grammy winners, the Be-Sharps were on top of the world for a brief period of time.  Comprised of Homer, Barney, Apu and Principal Skinner, they are now four-time Finalists.  Notably, Homer Simpson is also a Finalist for the Fictitious Athlete Hall of Fame.

The Max Rebo Band (Return of the Jedi):  What do all evil Hutts need?  A house band!  Max Rebo and his crew are two-time Finalists.

The Rutles (All You Need is Cash):  Finalists on two other occasions, The Rutles remind of us another group called the Beatles.  In the fictional musical universe, there are few that have been as successful.

The School of Rock (The School of Rock):  Dewey Finn pretended to be a substitute teacher and used his class as a band to perform at the Battle of the Bands.  How did he not get in more trouble?  Jack Black is already in as a member of Tenacious D.

The Soggy Bottom Boys (O Brother Where Art Thou?):  From the 1930s, three convicts on the run cut a record demo that became a hit.  This is their fourth time as Semi-Finalists, and they have reached the Finals for a third time.

You can vote for them here.

When you can, please support our site and cast your vote for the Class of 2020!

As always, we here at thank you for your support.

Last modified on Saturday, 07 November 2020 16:35
Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code