The College Football HOF announces their Finalists for the 2018 Class

While we haven’t yet compiled a list of those worthy of those for the College Football Hall of Fame, it has always been an institution that we have respected.

Today they have announced the nominees for the Class of 2018.

They are:

Morten Andersen, Michigan State, Place Kicker

Mark Bavaro, Notre Dame, Tight End

Michael Bishop, Kansas State, Quarterback

Lomas Brown, Florida, Offensive Line

Terrell Buckley, Florida State, Defensive Back

Larry Burton, Purdue, Wide Receiver

Keith Byars, Ohio State, Running Back

Gregg Carr, Auburn, Linebacker

Mark Carrier, USC, Defensive Back

Matt Cavanaugh, Pittsburgh, Quarterback

Trevor Cobb, Rice, Running Back

Marco Coleman, Georgia Tech, Linebacker

Kerry Collins, Penn State, Quarterback

Tim Couch, Kentucky, Quarterback

Eric Crouch, Nebraska, Quarterback

Kenneth Davis, TCU, Running Back

Rich Diana, Yale, Running Back

Eric Dickerson, SMU, Running Back

John Didion, Oregon State, Offensive Line

Rickey Dixon, Oklahoma, Defensive Back

Jumbo Elliott, Michigan, Offensive Tackle

Kevin Faulk, LSU, Running Back

David Fulcher, Arizona State, Defensive Back

Robert Gallery, Iowa, Offensive Lineman

Moe Gardner, Illinois, Defensive Lineman

Tony Gonzalez, California, Tight End

Martin Gramatica, Kansas State, Place Kicker

Jacob Green, Texas A&M, Defensive Lineman

Dan Hampton, Arkansas, Defensive Lineman

Jason Hanson, Washington State, Place Kicker

Byron Hanspard, Texas Tech, Running Back

Marcus Harris, Wyoming, Wide Receiver

Craig Heyward, Pittsburgh, Running Back

Torry Holt, North Carolina State, Wide Receiver

Dana Howard, Illinois, Linebacker

Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame, Wide Receiver

Ernie Jennings, Air Force, Wide Receiver

Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech, Wide Receiver

E.J. Junior, Alabama, Defensive Lineman

Rick Leach, Michigan, Quarterback

Jess Lewis, Oregon State, Defensive Lineman

Ray Lewis Miami, Linebacker

Ed McCaffrey, Stanford, Wide Receiver

Buddy McClinton, Auburn, Defensive Back

Cade McNown, UCLA, Quarterback

Shawn Moore, Virginia, Quarterback

Ken Norton Jr. UCLA, Linebacker

Phil Olsen, Utah State, Defensive Lineman

Leslie O’Neal, Oklahoma State, Defensive Lineman

Jim Otis, Ohio State, Fullback

Paul Palmer, Temple, Running Back

Jake Plummer, Arizona State, Quarterback

Anthony Poindexter, Virginia, Defensive Back

Troy Polamalu, USC, Defensive Back

Cliff Powell, Arkansas, Linebacker

Antwaan Randle El, Indiana, Quarterback

Ed Reed, Miami, Defensive Back

Simeon Rice, Illinois, Linebacker

Ron Rivera, California, Linebacker

Warren Sapp, Miami, Defensive Lineman

Bob Stein, Minnesota, Defensive Lineman

Matt Stinchcomb, Georgia, Offensive Lineman

Taylor Stubblefield, Purdue, Wide Receiver

Aaron Taylor, Nebraska, Offensive Lineman

Aaron Taylor, Notre Dame, Offensive Lineman

Troy Vincent, Wisconsin, Defensive Back

Chris Ward, Ohio State, Offensive Lineman

Michael Westbrook, Colorado, Wide Receiver

Lorenzo White, Michigan State, Running Back

Zach Weigert, Nebraska, Offensive Lineman

Patrick Willis, Mississippi, Linebacker

Steve Wisniewski, Penn State, Offensive Lineman

Charles Woodson, Michigan, Defensive Back

Al Worley, Washington, Defensive Back

Marc Zeno, Tulane, Wide Receiver


Frank Beamer: Murray State & Virginia Tech

Mack Brown: Appalachian State, Tulane, North Carolina & Texas

Jim Carlen: West Virginia, Texas Tech & South Carolina

Pete Cawthorn Sr.: Austin College & Texas Tech

Billy Jack Murphy: Memphis

To become eligible for the College Football Hall of Fame a player has to be named a First Team All American and be ten years removed from their last college season.  That season must also have occurred in the last fifty years.

Notably, there are also 98 more players and 31 Coaches from the FBS level or below who are also on the ballot.

We will certainly be watching to see who will be chosen!
Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code