The Canadian Football Hall of Fame announces their 2021 Class

The Canadian Football Hall of Fame announces their 2021 Class
13 Apr
Not in Hall of Fame

The Canadian Football Hall of Fame has announced the Class of 2021, which comprises of five former players, a coach and contributor.  

The new members are:

Will Johnson, Linebacker.  Calgary 1989-96 & Saskatchewan 1997.  From Northeast Louisiana, Johnson briefly played for the Chicago Bears, before finding a home with the Calgary Stampeders.  A five-time CFL All-Star, Johnson anchored the team to a win in the 1992 Grey Cup.  Individually, Johnson recorded 99 Sacks over his career, twice leading the league in that stat.

Marv Levy, Coach.  Montreal 1973-77.  Before he made himself a legend in Buffalo, Levy led the Montreal Alouettes to two Grey Cup wins (1974 & 1977) and had a 43-31-4 record.  Levy becomes the third person to enter both the Canadian and Pro Football Hall of Fame, joining Bud Grant and Warren Moon.

Nik Lewis, Slotback.  Calgary 2004-14 & Montreal 2015-18.  Lewis was a Division II All-American at Southern Arkansas, and he became one of the top receivers in CFL history.  Winning two Grey Cups with the Stampeders, Lewis was the 2004 Rookie of the Year with and was named to three straight All-Star Games (2010-12).  Statistically, Lewis had 13,778 Receiving Yards and 71 Touchdowns, and is the all-time league-leader in Receptions with 1,051.

Doug Mitchell, Commissioner, 1984-1988.  Mitchell was a three-time Grey Cup Champion (Hamilton 1967 & 1972, Montreal 1974) as a Center, but achieved more notoriety as the CFL Commissioner in the mid-80s.

Orlondo Steinauer, Defensive Back. Ottawa 1996, Hamilton 1997-2000 & Toronto 2001-08.  Steinauer was a five-time CFL All-Star who won two Grey Cups as a player, one with Hamilton (1999) and a second with Toronto (2004). Recording 49 Interceptions, Steinauer is second all-time in Interception Return Yards (1,178).  He is currently the Head Coach of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats.

Mike Walker, Defensive Tackle.  Hamilton 1982-89 & Edmonton 1990-91.  Walker was a three-time CFL All-Star who helped lead the Tiger-Cats to a win in the 1986 Grey Cup and had 95.5 career Sacks.  The former Washington State Cougar has been the Defensive Line Coach for the Edmonton Eskimos since 2009.

Don Wilson, Defensive Back.  Edmonton 1987-89, Toronto 1990-92, Edmonton 1993-94, Toronto 1995-96, B.C. 1997 & Edmonton 1998.  Wilson was a part of four Grey Cup championships (Edmonton 1987 & 1993, Toronto 1992 & 1996) and was a four-time All-Star.  A college player at North Carolina State, Wilson had 61 Interceptions, which is fifth all-time.

The ceremony is scheduled for November, which will be four months after the COVID-postponed Class of 2020 enters.

We here at would like to congratulate the newest members of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code