The Naismith Basketball HOF names the 2023 Nominees

The Naismith Basketball HOF names the 2023 Nominees
22 Dec
Not in Hall of Fame

The Naismith Basketball released their preliminary nominees for the Class of 2023, which contains candidates from six different categories.  The Finalists will be released on NBA All-Star Weekend, on Friday, February 17.  The Class will be announced during the Final Four on April 1.

Here is the list of nominees: 

*Indicates first time nominee.


Ken Anderson (Coach)

John Beilein (Coach*)

Gene Bess (Coach)

Chauncey Billups (Player) Ranked #6 on

Tom Chambers (Player) Ranked #23 on

John Clougherty (Referee)

Michael Cooper (Player) Ranked #28 on

Joey Crawford (Referee)

Jack Curran (Coach)

Mark Eaton (Player) Ranked #32 on

Cliff Ellis (Coach)

Michael Finlay (Player) Ranked #59 on

Pau Gasol (Player*) Ranked #3 on

Leonard Hamilton (Coach)

Lou Henson (Coach)

Ed Hightower (Referee)

David Hixon (Coach)

Mark Jackson (Player) Ranked #67 on

Marques Johnson (Player) Ranked #14 on

Gene Keady (Coach)

Jim Larranaga (Coach*)

Maurice Lucas (Player) Ranked #21 on

Shawn Marion (Player) Ranked #18 on

Rollie Massimino (Coach)

Dick Motta (Coach)

Dirk Nowitzki (Player*) Ranked #1 on

Jake O’Donnell (Referee)

Tony Parker (Player*) Ranked #5 on

Jim Phelan (Coach)

Gregg Popovich (Coach*)

Bo Ryan (Coach)

Stan Spirou (Coach*)

Reggie Theus (Player) Ranked #70 on

Dwyane Wade (Player*) Ranked #2 on

Buck Williams (Player) Ranked #9 on

John Williamson (Player)

Paul Westphal (Coach)


Leta Andrews (Coach)

Jennifer Azzi (Player)

Gary Blair (Coach)

Doug Bruno (Coach*)

Becky Hammon (Player)

Becky Martin (Coach)

Debbie Miller-Palmore (Player)

Kim Mulkey (Player)

Valerie Still (Player)

Marian Washington (Coach)


Jackie Chazalon

Mirza Delibasic

Dusan Ivkovic

Semen Khalipski

Vladimir Kondrashin

Eduardo Lamas

Marcos Leite

Shimon Mirrabi

Amaury Pasos

Manuel Sainz

Togo Soares

Ranko Zerzvica


1976 U.S. Olympic Team (Team*)

1982 Cheyney University NCAA Final Four Team (Team*)

Alline Banks Sprouse (Player)

Edmonton Commercial Grads (Team)

John Head (Coach)

Yolanda Laney (Player*)

Nashville Business College (Team)

Lorneta Odom (Player)

Hanley Redin (Coach)

Hazel Walker (Player)

Valerie Walker (Player*)

Dean Weese (Coach*)


Pete Babcock

Dick Baumgartner

Henry Bibby

Marty Blake

Vic Bubas

Doug Collins

Wayne Duke

Bill Foster

Bob Gibbons

Simon Gourdine

Tim Grgurich

Junius Kellogg

Johnny “Red” Kerr

Tom Konchalski

Bobby Lewis

Fred McCall

Jack McCloskey

Jon McGlocklin

Speedy Morris

Dennis Murphy

Curly Neal

Jack Powers

Will Robinson

Gene Shue

Jim Valvano

Donnie Walsh


1936 U.S. Olympic Team (Team)

1972 U.S. Olympic Team (Team)

Dick Barnett (Player) Ranked #61 on

Tom Blackburn (Coach)

Sid Borgia (Referee)

Charles Brown (Player)

Freddie Brown (Player*) Ranked #63 on

Jack Coleman (Player)

Charles Eckman (Referee)

Leroy Edwards (Player)

Lou Ferris (Contributor)

Hy Gotkin (Player)

Travis Grant (Player)

Jack Hartman (Coach)

Cam Henderson (Coach)

Robert Hopkins (Player)

Charles Keinath (Player)

Greg Kelser (Player*)

Kentucky Wesleyan 1966, 1968 & 1969 (Team)

Bob Love (Player) Ranked #52 on

Loyola of Chicago (Team)

Billy Markward (Contributor)

Ed McCluskey (Coach)

Jack McKinney (Contributor)

Bill Melchionni (Player*)

Francis Meehan (Player)

Lucias Mitchell (Coach)

Donald “Dudley” Moore (Coach)

Joe Mulaney (Coach)

Willie Naulls (Player) Ranked #45 on

North Catholic High School Junior Varsity (Philadelphia) (Team)

Don Otten (Player*)

Philadelphia SPHAS (Team)

Kevin Porter (Player*)

Glenn Roberts (Player)

Lennie Rosenbluth (Player)

Kenny Sailors (Player)

Fred Schaus (Contributor)

Sam Schulman (Contributor)

Paul Silas (Player) Ranked #26 on

Dick Van Arsdale (Player)

Tom Van Arsdale (Player)

Lambert Will (Cobtributor)

Max Zaslofsky (Player) Ranked #4 on

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Comments powered by CComment