The Veterans Committees select six new people into the Baseball Hall of Fame

The Veterans Committees select six new people into the Baseball Hall of Fame
05 Dec
Not in Hall of Fame

The Baseball Hall of Fame has announced the results of the 10-man ballots from both the Early Baseball Era Committee and Golden Days Era Committee for the Class of 2022, and it is a loaded group with six new names inducted.

Bud Fowler and Buck O’Neill were chosen by the Early Baseball Era Committee and Jim Kaat, Minnie Minoso, Tony Oliva and Gil Hodges were selected by the Golden Days Era Committee.

Bud Fowler, P, 3B, 2B, MAN.  Fowler not only had a long career in the late 1800s, he is considered to be one of the first African-American baseball players in history.  He received 75 percent of the vote.

Buck O’Neil, 1B.   Memphis (NAL 1937), Kansas City (NAL 1938-43 & 1946-48).  O’Neill was a two-time All-Star and Negro League Champion, but more importantly became the voice of the Negro Leagues.  O’Neil played a large part in the creation of the Negro League Baseball Museum, and he became the first African-American to become a Coach in MLB.  He received 81.3% of the vote.

Those not selected were:

Bill Dahlen, SS, 3B.  Chicago (NL 1891-1898), Brooklyn (NL 1899-1903) & New York (NL 1904-1911).  

John Donaldson, CF, P.  Kansas City (NNL 1920-24)*.  

Vic Harris, OF.  Pittsburgh (NNL 1922), Cleveland (NNL 1924), (Chicago NNL 1924), Homestead (ANL 1929), Homestead (EWL 1932), Detroit (EWL 1932), Homestead (NN2 1933), Pittsburgh (NN2 1933), Homestead NN2 1935-45 & 1947)*.  

Grant “Home Run” Johnson, SS, 2B.  

Lefty O’Doul, OF, P.  New York (AL 1919-20 & 1922), Boston (AL 1923), New York (NL 1928 & 1933-34), Philadelphia (NL 1929-30), Brooklyn (NL 1931-33).  

Dick “Cannonball” Redding, P.  Brooklyn (ECL 1923-27).  

Allie Reynolds, P.  Cleveland (AL 1942-46), New York (1947-54).  

George “Tubby” Scales, 3B. 2B. 1B, P.  St. Louis (NWL 1921-23), New York (EVL 1923-28), Newark (EVL 1926), New York (ANL, 1926), Homestead (ANL 1926), Homestead (NN2 1935), New York (NN2 1936, 1939 & 1945), Baltimore (NN2 1940-44 & 1946).  

The four chosen from the Golden Days Era consists of four names, two of which, Kaat and Oliva are still alive.

The Golden Days Era nominees are:

Gil Hodges, 1B, OF.  Brooklyn/Los Angeles (NL 1943 & 1947-61), New York (NL 1962-63).  Hodges was an eight-time All-Star who smacked 370 Home Runs with 1,274 RBIs.  He also twice led the Dodgers to World Series Championships.  Hodges was on the ballot for the full fifteen years, peaking at 63.4% in his final year (1983).  He received 75% of the ballot.

Jim Kaat, P.  Washington/Minnesota (AL 1959-73), Chicago (AL 1973-75), Philadelphia (NL 1976-79), New York (AL 1979-80), St. Louis (NL 1980-83).  Kaat was a three-time All-Star, and a 16-time Gold Glove winner.  He had a record of 283-237 with 2,471 Strikeouts.  Kaat was on the ballot for fifteen years, with his highest total coming in 1993 with 29.6%.  He received 75% of the vote,

Minnie Minoso, OF, 1B.  New York (NN2 1946-48), Cleveland (AL 1949, 1951 & 1958-59), Chicago (AL 1951-47, 1960-61, 1964, 1976 & 1980), St. Louis (NL 1962) & Washington (AL 1963).  The only player to appear in five different decades, Minoso had 2,110 Hits, 195 Home Runs and was a 13-time All-Star.  Minoso was on the ballot for 15 years, with his highest total coming in 1988 with 21.1%.  He received 87.5% of the vote.

Tony Oliva, OF.  Minnesota (AL 1962-76).  Oliva was a three-time Batting Champion, five-time leader in Hits and eight-time All-Star.  He had 1,917 career Hits with a lifetime Batting Average of .304.  Oliva was on the ballot for 15 years, and peaked at 47.3% in 1988.  He received 75% of the ballot.

The other nominees were:

Dick Allen, 1B, 3B, OF.  Philadelphia (NL 1963-69 & 1975-76), St. Louis (NL 1970), Los Angeles (NL 1971), Chicago (AL 1972-74) & Oakland (AL 1977).  

Ken Boyer, 3B, OF.  St. Louis (NL 1955-65), New York (NL 1966-67), Chicago (AL 1967-68) & Los Angeles (NL 1968-69).  

Roger Maris, OF.  Cleveland (AL 1957-58), Kansas City (AL 1958-59), New York (AL 1960-66) & St. Louis (NL 1967-68).  

Danny Murtaugh, MAN.  Pittsburgh (NL 1957-64, 1967, 1970-71 & 1973-76).  

Billy Pierce, P.  Detroit (AL 1945 & 1948), Chicago (AL 1949-61) & San Francisco (NL 1962-64).  

Maury Wills, OF.  Los Angeles (NL 1959-66 & 1969-72), Pittsburgh (NL 1967-68) & Montreal (NL 1969).  

These six men will (potentially) be joined by those from the writer’s ballot on January 25.  Following that, we will revise our Baseball List.  

We here a would like to congratulate the newest members of the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code