The Grammy Hall of Fame has announced their new class, which inducts what they feel are iconic albums and songs that helped shape the musical world.

Which ones are they?

They are:


American Beauty (1970) by The Grateful Dead.

Ella and Louis (1956) by Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong.

First Take (1969) by Roberta Flack.

Fleetwood Mac (1975) by Fleetwood Mac.

Lush Life (1961) by John Coltrane

Margaritaville (1977) by Jimmy Buffett

Miles Smiles (1967) by Miles Davis

Pretenders (1980) by The Pretenders

Randy Newman (1968) by Randy Newman


Boom Boom (1962) by John Lee Hooker.

Celebration (1980) by Kool & the Gang.

Cold Sweat-Part 1 (1967) by James Brown and the Famous Flames.

The Dark End of the Street (1967) by James Carr

“Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree (1942) by the Andrews Sisters.

The Fat Man (1949) by Fats Domino

For the Love of Money (1974) by The O’Jays.

Heart of Glass (1979) by Blondie

I Love Rock ‘N’ Roll (1982) by Joan Jett & The Blackhearts

The Loco-Motion (1962) by Little Eva

Rock Island Line (1942) by Lead Belly

She’s About A Mover (1965) by Sir Douglas Quintet

She’s Not There (1964) by The Zombies

This Train (1939) by Sister Rosetta Sharpe

What Did I Do To Be So Black and Blue (1929) by Louis Armstrong

You Are So Beautiful (1974) by Joe Cocker

While is not exactly enamored with the Grammys, we do recognize that for many this is quite the honor and we would like to congratulate those involved with these albums and singles for obtaining this accolade.

While we don’t rank those who are not in the Songwriters Hall of Fame, it has always been an institution that we have had respect for and report on whenever they have a major announcement. It doesn’t get any bigger for them then when they have chosen a new class!

The 2018 Songwriters Hall of Fame Class consists of John Mellencamp, Alan Jackson, Bill Anderson, Jermaine Dupri, Steve Dorff, Allee Willis and the members of Kool & The Gang.

For many (and essentially us) the headliner is John Mellencamp, who is also a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. A legend of the heartland rock scene, Mellencamp had ten top ten hits including a number one with “Jack and Diane”. He also had a number one album (American Fool) in 1982.

Alan Jackson was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame last year. The native of Georgia had 38 songs reach the top five on the Country & Western chart. “Whisperin” Bill Anderson, who is also a Country Music Hall of Fame inductee (2001) had seven songs go to number one and wrote many hits for other Country musicians. Steve Dorff wrote hits for Eddie Rabitt and George Strait and others and was also successful in writing television shows.

R&B mogul Jermaine Dupri wrote or co-wrote many hits for Usher, Mariah Carey and many others. Allee Wills collaborated with Earth Wind & Fire and the Pointer Sisters among others in the R&B field. The members of Kool & the Gang who are inducted are Robert “Kool” bell, Ronald Bell, George Brown and James “JT” Taylor.

The official induction ceremony will take place on June 14.

We here at would like to congratulate the newest members of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame class.

79. Kool & the Gang

There are many people who first heard of Kool & the Gang form the monster hit, Celebration in 1980. After that, the band churned out multiple hits of the softer R&B vibe that generated them much success. However, like a few other artists on this list we can’t help but feel that we are discussing two different careers as the Kool & the Gang of the 1970’s was much different than the decade that followed.