The IIHF Hall of Fame announces their new class

The IIHF Hall of Fame announces their new class
07 Feb
Not in Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame season continues with today’s announcement by the International Hockey Hall of Fame of its new eight member class.

The new members are:

Boris Alexandrov, The Soviet Union & Kazakhstan:  Alexandrov was a Gold Medalist for the U.S.S.R. in 1974 in the World Juniors and again in the 1976 Olympics.  He would come out of retirement and represent Kazakhstan in the 1995 World Championship Division II.  

Jim Johannson, U.S.A.:  Johannson won the Lester Patrick Award for his contributions to hockey in the U.S. in 2018 and he began his tenure with U.S. Hockey in 2000.  Sadly he passed away last year.

Jorgen Jonsson, Sweden:  Jonsson played the majority of his professional career in his native Sweden and he has a plethora of medals for his international accomplishments.  With Sweden, Jonsson won two Gold Medals in the Olympics (1994 & 2006) and two World Hockey Championship Gold Medals (1998 & 2006).  He also won three Silvers and (1997, 2003 & 2004) and four Bronze Medals at the Worlds (1994, 1999, 2001 & 2002).

Konstantin Mikhaylov, Bulgaria:  Mikhaylov played in net for the Bulgarian National Team in 28 World Hockey Championships.

Mike Modano, U.S.A.:  Modano entered the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2014 and would score 1,374 Points over his NHL career.  Representing the United States, Modano was a three time Olympian (winning a Silver Medal in 2002) and a two time World Cup participant where he would take the Americans to a win in the 1996 Tournament.  He is also a Silver Medalist at the 1991 Canada Cup and he would be in the World Hockey Championship three times.  He had 41 Points over 57 Games played for Team U.S.A. on the Senior Level.

Zigmund Palffy, Czechoslovakia & Slovakia:  Palffy won a Bronze Medal at the World Junior Championships in 1991 for Czechoslovakia and would also represent them in that year’s Canada Cup.  Later representing Slovakia he would represent the new country in three Olympics (1994, 2002 & 2010), the 1996 World Cup of Hockey and was a 2002 World Hockey Champion for his country.

Miroslav Satan, Slovakia:  As a Senior, Satan suited up for the Slovakian National Team 110 times recording 86 Points.  Satan represented Slovakia in four Olympic Games, the World Cup of Hockey twice but his best work was in the World Hockey Championship where he began in Pool C in 1994 and took them as their Team Captain in 2000 to a Silver Medal.  Satan would later win a Gold (2002), Bronze (2003) and another Silver in 2012.  

Hayley Wickenheiser, Canada:  Considered by many to the greatest female hockey player of all time, Hayley Wickenheiser is a four time Gold Medalist for Canada in the Olympics and her 51 Points remains an Olympic record.  She is also a seven time World Champion.

The induction ceremony will be held in Bratislava, Slovakia on May 26.

We here at would like to congratulate the latest class of the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code