Committee Chairman

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] .

We have another significant retirement in the National Football League as popular Running Back Danny Woodhead announced via Instagram that his professional career was over.

A two time Division II MVP Woodhead went undrafted in 2008 but did sign as a Free Agent with the New York Jets. He would finally crack the main roster in 2009 where he saw limited action but the New England Patriots would sign him after he was cut early into the 2010 season. In New England, he would become a valuable dual threat both in his running and receiving game and he would have 926 Yards from Scrimmage.

Woodhead remained with the Patriots for two more seasons and would score a Touchdown in the Pats Super Bowl XLVI loss to the Giants. He would sign with the San Diego Chargers with whom he would play four seasons, two of which would see him exceed 1,000 Yards from Scrimmage. He would finish his career with the Baltimore Ravens in 2017 and would accumulate 4,936 Yards from Scrimmage and 32 Touchdowns over a 101 Game career.

While Danny Woodhead is unlikely to make the Pro Football Hall of Fame (he is eligible in 2023) he had a fun career and could make the College Football Hall of Fame.

We here at wish Danny Woodhead the best in his post NFL career.

In what will likely be the most significant retirement of the off-season, Joe Thomas of the Cleveland Browns has announced that he will no longer compete in the National Football League.

On his ThomaHawk podcast, Thomas cited his recent knee injury as the main reason for his retirement.

Drafted third overall out of the University of Wisconsin in 2007, Thomas proved to be one of the most durable players in league history. Since he was drafted, the Left Tackle played 10,363 consecutive snaps until a tricep injury forced him out on October 22 of this past season. This is (unofficially) the longest streak of its kind.

In a career spanning eleven seasons, Thomas was named a Pro Bowl selection in ten of them. Only four other players went to the Pro Bowl in their first ten seasons, and he did this all for Cleveland, a team that has not been good (he never played in the playoffs). He also was named a First Team All-Pro seven times.

Thomas will always be revered in the city of Cleveland. Despite the team’s failure to build stars around him, he never asked to leave, always conducted himself with class and led by example. He should be a lock for the Pro Football Hall of Fame (he will be eligible in 2023) and has a better than average chance to enter on his first ballot.

We here at would like to congratulate Joe Thomas on an incredible career and we wish him the best on his post-playing life.

As long been speculated, Kid Rock has been announced as the latest inductee to the WWE Hall of Fame.

Kid Rock broke out in the early 1990’s and has put out a unique career that has transcended multiple genres and has sold nearly 30 million records.

The native of Michigan has had his music used as official theme songs of WWE pay per views and his song, “American Bad Ass” was used as the Undertaker’s theme during his biker phase and his cover of ZZ Top’s “Legs” was used for Stacy Keibler. Kid Rock also appeared at Tribute to the Troops and he played a brief set at Wrestlemania 25.

We here at would like to congratulate Kid Rock for achieving this honor.

In what has to be considered a mild surprised (as his name was not speculated about like the rest of this year’s class) Hillbilly Jim has been named as the next inductee for the WWE Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

Born James Morris, Hillbilly Jim began wrestling in 1975 and prior to joining the then named World Wrestling Federation competed in various promotions most notably as the biker, Harley Davidson. Morris would sign with Vince McMahon’s promotion in late 1984 and would regularly appear at television tapings as a fan. After weeks of appearing in the crowd he would jump the barricade and save Hulk Hogan from having his hair cut by Bobby “the Brain” Heenan, Big John Studd and Ken Patera. Hogan would then go on to train Hillbilly Jim in a series of vignettes and essentially he was given the rub and cemented as a top babyface.

Jim would suffer an early setback as he suffered a severe leg injury while chasing Johnny Valiant during at ringside and was sidelined for month but was given the role as the manager for his “relatives” Uncle Elmer and Cousin Junior (later to be replaced by Cousin Luke) and would assist them in feuds against the Heenan Family, Roddy Piper and Jesse Ventura.

Hillbilly Jim would return to action and would compete in the Wrestlemania 2 battle royal and at Wrestlemania 3 in a mixed tag team match against King Kong Bundy. While he would also be in the opening battle royal at Wrestlemania 4, realistically following early 1986 he was never involved in any significant program although he remained over with the fans. After being left off the Wrestlemania V card, he would enjoy his biggest win to date on a house show at the Nassau Coliseum by defeating Andre the Giant by disqualification. He would cease wrestling in the spring of 1990.

The native of Kentucky would continue to work for the WWF for years after. Jim acted as the ambassador for Coliseum Home Video for a decade and for a brief spell was the manager of the Godwinns. He would also compete in the gimmick battle royal at Wrestlemania 17.

We here at would like to congratulate Hillbilly Jim for earning this honor.