The World Golf Hall of Fame announces their Finalists

The World Golf Hall of Fame announces their Finalists
03 Oct
Not in Hall of Fame

The World Golf Hall of Fame has announced the 15 Finalists in four categories, Male Competitors (4), Female Competitors (5), Lifetime Achievement (3) and Veterans (3). A Sub-Committee of 20 people decided the Finalists, six of which are Hall of Famers.

The Finalists are:

Male Competitors:

Reteif Goosen: From South Africa, Goosen won 33 times on tour and was the 2001 and 2004 U.S. Open winner. He is also a six time Presidents Cup winner.

Graham Marsh: The Australian won 50 tournaments, 20 of which were on the Asian Tour.

Corey Pavin: Pavin won 24 tournaments, which included 15 on the PGA Tour. Pavin won the 1995 U.S. Open and four Ryder Cups and was also named the PGA Player of the Year in 1991.

Hal Sutton: Sutton won 14 PGA Tournaments, three of which were Majors (the 1983 and 2000 Players Championship and 1983 PGA Championship). He as also a five time Ryder Cup Champion and was the 1983 PGA Player of the Year.

Female Competitors:

Susie Berning: Berning won 11 LPGA titles, which included four majors; the 1965 Western Open and the 1968, 1972 & 1973 U.S. Women’s Open Championship.

Beverly Hanson: Hanson won 17 times on the LPGA including the 1955 LPGA Championship, 1956 Women’s Western Open and the 1958 Titleholders Championship.

Sandra Palmer: Palmer won 21 tournaments, 19 of which were on the LPGA circuit. Palmer was named the LPGA Player of the Year while winning the U.S. Open that year.

Dottie Pepper: Pepper was the LGPA Player of the Year in 1992 and she won the Kraft Nabisco Championship twice (1992 & 1999). She would win 17 tournaments on the LPGA circuit.

Jan Stephenson: Stephenson won 16 LPGA tournaments and the Australian won three Majors, 1981 du Maurier Classic, the 1982 LPGA Championship and the 1983 U.S. Women’s Open.

Lifetime Achievement:

Peggy Kirk Bell: Bell was a charter member of the LPGA in 1950 and she would win the Titleholders Championship in 1949. She would achieve more notoriety as an instructor as she would become the first woman to be named in the World Golf Teachers Hall of Fame.

Billy Payne: Payne was the Chairman of the Augusta National Golf Club from 2006 to 2017.

Dennis Walters: Walters was a strong golfer who was paralyzed at age 24 due to a golf cart accident but he became a trick shot artist and gave golf clinics throughout the world.


Jim Ferrier: The Australian star won 18 Titles on the PGA Tour, which was highlighted winning the 1947 PGA Championship. He was also a four time Australian Amateur Champion.

Catherine Lacoste: Lacoste won the 1967 U.S. Open as an amateur (the only one to do so) and the native of France also won the U.S. and British Women’s Amateur Championship in 1969.

Calvin Peete: Peete won 12 Tournaments on the PGA Tour and was a two time Ryder Cup Champion. He also won the Players Championship in 1985.

To gain induction, the finalist must receive 75% of the vote. The Class of 2019 will be announced on October 10 and the ceremony will take place on June 10, 2019.

We will certainly be watching to see who will comprise the 2019 Hall of Fame Class.

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code