The International Boxing Hall of Fame names their 2020 Finalists

The International Boxing Hall of Fame names their 2020 Finalists
02 Oct
Not in Hall of Fame

The International Boxing Hall of Fame has announced their ballot for the Class of 2020.  It is a particularly loaded ballot, as the Hall has reduced their wait time to three years.

The full ballot of the Modern Candidates was not released, but they did announce the 12 new eligible former boxers who have been named to the ballot:

They are:

Jorge Arce:  64-8-2-1 49 KO, Mexico.  Former WBO-NABO, WBO, WBC, Lineal Light Flyweight, WBC, WBO Super Flyweight and WBO Bantamweight Champion.

Timothy Bradley Jr.:  33-2-1-1 13 KO, U.S.A.  Former WBC, WBO Light Welterweight and WBO Welterweight Champion.

Vuyani Bungu:  39-5, 19 KO, South Africa.  Former IBF Super Bantamweight, IBO Featherweight Champion.

Joel Casamayor:  38-6-1, 22 KO, Cuba.  Former NABF, WBA, IBA Super Featherweight, WBC, Ring Magazine, Lineal Lightweight Champion.

Diego Corrales:  40-5 33 KO, U.S.A.  Former IBA Intercontinental Lightweight, IBF, IBA, WBO Super Featherweight, WBO, WBC, Ring Magazine, Lineal Lightweight Champion.

Bernard Hopkins:  55-8-2-2 32 KO, U.S.A.  Former IBF, WBA, WBC, Ring Magazine, Lineal, WBO and Undisputed Middleweight and the IBO, Ring Magazine, WBC, Lineal, IBF and WBA Light Heavyweight Champion.

Juan Manuel Marquez:  56-7-1 40 KO, Mexico.  Former WBO-NABO, WBA, NABF, USBA, WBA, Ring Magazine, USBA, IBF, WBO Featherweight, WBC Super Featherweight, Ring Magazine, Lineal, WBA, WBO Lightweight and WBO Welterweight Champion.

Sergio Martinez:  51-3-2 28 KO, Argentina.  Former IBO Super Welterweight, WBC, WBO, Ring Magazine, Lineal Middleweight Champion.

Shane Mosley:  49-10-1-1 41 KO, U.S.A.  Former IBF Lightweight, WBC, IBA, Lineal, WBA Welterweight, WBA, WBC, Ring Magazine, Lineal, IBA Light Middleweight Champion.

Antonio Tarver:  31-6-1-1 22 KO, U.S.A.  Former NABF, USBA, WBC, IBF, WBA, IBO, Ring Magazine Light Heavyweight, IBO Cruiserweight, Champion

Israel Vazquez:  4405 32 KO, Mexico.  Former NABF, IBF, WBC, Ring Magazine, Lineal Super Bantamweight Champion.

This will be the first time that the Hall will have a Women’s section:

The first ballot’s nominees are:

Laila Ali:  24-0 21 KO, U.S.A.  Former IBA, WIBA, IWBF, IBA, WBC Super Middleweight and IWBF Light Heavyweight Champion.

Sumya Anani:  25-3-1 10 KO, U.S.A.  Former WIBA, IBA Super Lightweight, WIBA, GBU, IBA Welterweight Champion.

Ragina Halmich:  54-1-1 16 KO, Germany.  Former IBF Light Flyweight, IBF Flyweight, IBF Super Flyweight Champion.

Holly Holm:  33-2-3 9 KO, U.S.A.  Former IBA, NABF, WIBA, IBA Light Welterweight, WBAN Junior Welterweight, WBA, WBC, GBU, IBA, WIBA, IFBA, WBAN Welterweight and IFBA Light Middleweight Champion.

Susi Kentikan:  36-2-0-1 17 KO, Germany.  Former WBA, WIBF, WBO, WBA GBU Flyweight Champion. 

Christy Martin:  49-7-3 31 KO, U.S.A.  Former WBC Lightweight and WBC Super Welterweight Champion.

Lucia Rijker:  17-0 14 KO, Netherlands.  Former WIBF Super Lightweight and WIBO Junior Welterweight Champion

Jisselle Salandy:  16-0 6 KO, Trinidad and Tobago.  Former WBA, WBC, IWBF, NABC, WBE, IWBA, WIBA, WIBF and GBU Light Middleweight Champion.

Mary Jo Sanders:  25-1-1 8 KO, U.S.A.  Former WBS Super Lightweight, IBA Super Welterweight, WBC Welterweight and IBA Middleweight Champion.

Laura Serrano:  17-4-2 6 KO, Mexico.  Former WIBF Lightweight Champion.

Ana Maria Torres:28-3-3 16 KO, Mexico. Former WBC Super Flyweight Champion.

Anne Wolf:  24-1-0-1 16 KO, U.S.A.  Former IFBA Junior Middleweight, WIBA Light Middleweight, IFBA, WBA, NABA Super Middleweight and WIBA, IBA Light Heavyweight Champion.

Inductees come from the following categories: Modern, Old-Timer, Pioneer, Non-Participant, Observer and Women.

The Class of 2020 will be announced this December.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will take place on June 11-14 in Canastota, New York.




Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code