The Pro Football HOF Announces their Finalists

The Pro Football HOF Announces their Finalists
04 Jan
Not in Hall of Fame
We love this time of the year!

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced their Finalists for the Class of 2017, and as usual there are only moderate surprises.

The 15 finalists are as follows:

LaDainian Tomlinson:  A star Running Back who spent most of his career with the San Diego Chargers.  Tomlinson went to five Pro Bowls, won the 2006 MVP, won two Rushing Titles and is a three time First Team All Pro Selection and is entering his first year of eligibility.  He is ranked #2 on

Alan Faneca:  A former Offensive Lineman who spent the majority of his career with the Pittsburgh Steelers.  Faneca went to nine Pro Bowls, was chosen for six First Team All Pros and won the Super Bowl with Pittsburgh.    He is ranked #4 on

Terrell Owens:  A former Wide Receiver who was known for his skill as much as his off field issues.  Owens is a five time Pro Bowl and six time First Team All Pro Selection.  He retired ranked #2 in Receiving Yards and Touchdown Receptions.  He is ranked #6 on

Brian Dawkins:  A Safety who played for both the Philadelphia Eagles and Denver Broncos.  Dawkins was a nine time Pro Bowler and four time First Team All Pro Selection.  Dawkins is a member of the 20/20 club, has over 1,000 Tackles and is entering his first year of eligibility.  He is ranked #7 on

Jason Taylor:  A Defensive Tackle known mostly for his time with the Miami Dolphins.  Taylor went to three Pro Bowls was chosen for three First Team All Pro Selections and led the NFL in Sacks in 2007.  He would be named the Defensive Player of the Year in 2006.  Taylor is entering his first year of eligibility.  Ranked #10 on

Kevin Mawae.  An Offensive Lineman who played for the New York Jets, Seattle Seahawks and the Tennessee Titans.  Mawae was chosen for eight Pro Bowls and three First Team All Pro squads.  Ranked #18 on

Terrell Davis.  Davis had his career shortened due to injury but in his brief time in the NFL, the Running Back was an MVP, two time Offensive Player of the Year, a three time First Team All Pro Selection, a Super Bowl MVP and a two time Super Bowl Champion.  Ranked #19 on

Kurt Warner.  A Quarterback who came out of nowhere to take the St. Louis Rams to a Super Bowl.  Warner is a two time MVP who was chosen for two Frist Team All Pros.  He also won the Super Bowl MVP.  Ranked #22 on

Isaac Bruce.  A Wide Receiver who was a star with the St. Louis Rams.  Bruce would go to four Pro Bowls and helped the Rams win the Super Bowl.  Ranked #24 on

John Lynch.  A Strong Safety who played for the Tampa Buccaneers and the Denver Broncos.  Lynch would go to seven Pro Bowls and two First Team All Pros.  He is a former Super Bowl Champion with Tampa.  Ranked #42 on

Ty Law.  A former Cornerback.  Law won three Super Bowls with the New England Patriots and went to five Pro Bowls.  He would also lead the NFL in Interceptions twice.  Ranked #48 on

Joe Jacoby.  An Offensive Linemen with the Washington Redskins, Jacoby was a member of the famed “Hogs”.  Jacoby won three Super Bowls and went to two Pro Bowls.  Ranked #56 on

Morten Andersen.  Andersen holds the all time scoring record in the NFL.  The Place Kicker is a seven time Pro Bowl and three time First Team All Pro Selection.  Ranked #62 on

Tony Boselli.  A former Offensive Tackle who played seven seasons with the Jacksonville Jaguars.  He went to five Pro Bowls and was named to three First Team All Pro squads.  This is Boselli’s first time being named a Finalist.  Unranked on

Don Coryell.  Coryell revolutionized the Passing Game over his time with the San Diego Chargers.  His influence is still being felt through the National Football League today.

This group of Modern Era Finalists are joined by Senior Finalist, Kenny Easley and Contributors, Paul Tagliabue and Jerry Jones.

Safety Steve Atwater, Running Back Edgerrin James, Wide Receiver Hines Ward, Running Back Roger Craig, Tackle Chris Hinton, Wide Receiver Torry Holt, Coach Jimmy Johnson, Tackle Mike Kenn, Linebacker Clay Matthews, Linebacker Karl Mecklenburg and Safety Darren Woodson did not advance from the Semi-Finalists.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017 will be announced on the day before the Super Bowl.

Congratulations to this group of players and we will be watching intensely to see who gets in!

Last modified on Monday, 10 April 2017 21:26
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code