Our Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces the 2022 Finalists

Our Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces the 2022 Finalists
03 Dec
Not in Hall of Fame

One of our pet projects, the Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the Finalists for the Class of 2022, which will be the 8th full class. 

The Semi-Finalists were decided by all of you, after being pared down from other 500 Preliminary Nominees.

Whoever gets inducted this year, will join previous inductees:

The Fictitious Rock and Roll inductees are: Spinal Tap, The Monkees, The Blues Brothers, Gorillaz, Tenacious D, Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem, Wyld Stallyns, Alvin and the Chipmunks, The Wonders, Bleeding Gums Murphy, Otis Day and the Nights, Stillwater, Josie and the Pussycats, Marvin Berry and the Starlighters, The Rutles, Eddie and the Cruisers, Schroeder and The Archies.

To mix things up, just like or Fictitious Athlete Hall of Fame, we have created a contributor’s section, which saw Dr. Johnny Fever and Wayne Campbell and Garth Algar enter last year.

This year’s Fictitious Rock and Roll Finalists are:


Dethklok (Metalocalypse):  Death Metal has its representative, and they are intriguing ones as they were merchandising giants and have feuds withs supernatural beings.  They are previous two-time Finalists.

Dewey Cox (Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story, Portrayed by John C. Reilly):  A multi-time Semi-Finalist, and now two-time Finalists, Cox’s career feels a lot like what would have happened if Johnny Cash’s career went ten steps sideways.  Reilly also has a Finalist (Cal Naughton Jr.) in the Finals for the Fictitious Athlete Hall of Fame.

Figrin D’An and the Modal Nodes (Star Wars):  The house band at the Mos Eisley Cantina was a finalist the last two years.  No band can bounce back after seeing a fatality better than this one.  This is their fourth time as Finalists.

Gene Frenkle (Saturday Night Live, Portrayed by Will Ferrell):  If a cowbell virtuoso is Hall of Fame worthy, it is Frenkle, whose signature performance with the Blue Oyster Cult in “Don’t Fear the Reaper” will never be forgotten. Ferrell, like Reilly, also has a Fictitious Athlete as a Finalist, (Ricky Bobby), and it is from the same movie (Talladega Nights).

Lili Von Shtupp (Blazing Saddles, Portrayed by Madeline Kahn):  We love Mel Brooks, and we are happy that for the first time we have a peripheral candidate in our midst.  Now how do we honor Alex Karras for his portrayal of Mongo?  This character is a first time Semi-Finalist and first time Finalist.

Robbie Hart (The Wedding Singer, portrayed by Adam Sandler):  Hart’s biggest moment may have been engineered by Billy Idol in an airplane, but we would like to believe that his songs would be crooned by the like of Idol (or more likely a Lisa Loeb type) sometime after he lived happily ever after.  Hart is a first time Finalist, and Sandler is in the same boat as Reilly and Ferrell, as he has characters (Paul Crewe) in both the Fictitious Athlete and Fictitious Rock Hall Finals.

Sadgasm (The Simpsons, voiced by Dan Castellaneta & Hank Azaria):  You have to hand it to Homer Simpson, who as a young adult won a Grammy, though when he was even younger, and many years later, was fronting a grunge band.  Does he own a DeLorean?  This is a first time Semi-Finalist, and Finalist, and you have to hand it to Homer, who is already in the Fictitious Athlete Hall.

Sex Bob-omb (Scott Pilgrim Vs the World, Portrayed by Michael Cera, Allison Pill & Mark Webber:  A previous Finalist, Sex Bob-omb went through more tribulations any Toronto-based band that we can think of.  They are now four-time Finalists.

The Be Sharps (The Simpsons, Voiced by Dan Castellaneta, Hank Azaria & Harry Shearer):  Former Grammy winners, the Be-Sharps were on top of the world for a brief period of time.  Comprised of Homer (who has the potential of entering twice this year, Barney, Apu and Principal Skinner, they are now six-time Finalists.

The School of Rock (The School of Rock, Portrayed by Jack Black, Joey Gaydos Jr., Kevin Clark, Rebecca Brown, Robert Tsai. Maryam Hassan, Caitlin Hale & Aleisha Allen):  Dewey Finn pretended to be a substitute teacher and used his class as a band to perform at the Battle of the Bands.  How did he not get in more trouble?  They are now four-time Finalists.

The Soggy Bottom Boys (O Brother, Where Art Thou?, Portrayed by George Clooney, John Turturro, Delmar O’Donnell & Chris Thomas King):  The nominees from the pre-rock era comes from escaped convicts in Mississippi.  Throw in the “Crossroads”, and you have one hell of an old school candidate.  They are now three-time Finalists.

You can vote for them here.

This year’s Fictitious Rock and Roll Semi-Finalists Contributors are:

Bruce Dickinson (Saturday Night Live, Portrayed by Christopher Walken):  Dickinson needed more cowbell.  He had a fever for it.  He got it, and the Blue Oyster Cult were forever grateful.  Dickinson was a Finalist last year.

Colonel Homer Simpson (The Simpsons, Voiced by Dan Castallenta):  Homer Simpson is (again) nominated in both categories, here for his discovery and early management of country singer, Lurleen Lumpkin.  He was a Finalist last year.

Curtis (The Blues Brothers, Portrayed by Cab Calloway):  Had it not been for the mentorship of Curtis, the Blues Brothers would not have become the iconic band that they were.  He was a Finalist last year.

Ramona Flowers (Scott Pilgrim Vs the World, Portrayed by Mary Elizabeth Winstead):  Why was Scott Pilgrim fighting the world?  For the love of Ramona Flowers of course!  The ultimate rock muse was a Finalist last year.

Reverend Cleophus Jones (The Blues Brothers, Portrayed by James Brown):  Had it not been for the Reverend, would Joliet Jake have known to put the band back together?

Ruby Rhod (The Fifth Element, Portrayed by Chris Tucker):  If DJs in the future will in fact be like Ruby Rhod, at least we know we will be entertained.  This is a first time Finalist.

You can vote for them here.

When you can, please support our site and cast your vote for the Class of 2022!

As always, we here at Notinhalloffame.com thank you for your support, and ask you to cast your votes.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code