The World Golf Hall of Fame announces their Finalists

The World Golf Hall of Fame announces their Finalists
03 Mar
Not in Hall of Fame

We are only in March of 2020, but the World Golf Hall of Fame has announced the Finalists for the 2021 Class.

Earlier this week, the nomination committee have put forth ten Finalists.  Four are in the male category, four in the female category and two in the contributor category.

The Male Finalists are:

Johnny Farrell:  Farrell won 28 PGA Tour Titles, including the 1928 U.S. Open.

Padraig Harrington:  The Irishman won six PGA Tour Titles, 15 European Tour Titles and was the 2008 PGA Tour Player of the Year.

Tom Weiskopf:  Weiskopf won 16 PGA Tour Titles, which included the 1973 Open Championship.

Tiger Woods:  Woods won a whopping 92 PGA Tour Titles, including 15 Majors.   

The Female Finalists are:

Beverly Hanson: Hanson won the U.S. Women’s Amateur Title in 1950, and would later win 17 LPGA Titles and three Majors.

Susie Maxwell Berning:  Berning won 11 LPGA Titles with four Majors.

Sandra Palmer:  Palmer was the 1975 LPGA Player of the Year, and would win two Majors and 19 LPGA Titles.

Dottie Pepper:  Pepper captured 17 LPGA Titles, with two of them being Majors.

The Contributors are:

Tim Finchem:  Finchem was the PGA Tour Commissioner from 1993 to 2016.

Marion Hollis:  Hollis won the 1921 U.S. Amateur Tournament and was one of the early golf course arhitects.  

The conspiracy theory in us, has to wonder aloud if the recent change to from 50 to 45 years old, is to fast track Woods into the Hall.  If that is the case, that would indicate a need to generate immediate income for the institution (see Basketball Hall of Fame, Naismith).

Regardless, we here at will be watching!

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code