Don Coryell named the Senior Finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Don Coryell named the Senior Finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame
24 Aug
Not in Hall of Fame

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced today that Don Coryell has advanced as the 2023 Coach/Contributor Finalist.

Coryell is one of the most innovative minds in the history of Pro Football, having developed the Air Coryell” offense which is the prototype for today’s modern offense.  A Finalist six times before, Coryell’s creativity has never been in question, but it did not yield a Title, which is likely the reason that he has not been enshrined yet, but that day seems to be coming.  While this is not a lock for Coryell to get in, patterns indicate that this is his time.

The other Finalists who Coryell beat out were:

Roone Arledge:  Arledge was a powerful television industry executive and producer whose creativity, leadership and technical innovations revolutionized the presentation of both news and sports.  He was the brainchild behind Monday Night Football, and has never been a Finalist.

Mike Holmgren: The Head coach of the Green Bay Packers from 1992-98 and the Seattle Seahawks from 1999-2008, Holmgren was a Finalist in 2020.

Frank “Bucko” Kilroy:  Kilroy worked in player personnel and scouting for the Philadelphia Eagles, Washington Redskins and Dallas Cowboys. He was the Patriots’ general manager from 1979 to 1982 and vice president from 1983 to 1993.  An outstanding player in his own right, Kilroy has a Finalist in 2020.

Robert Kraft: Kraft is the current Owner, Chairman and CEO of the New England Patriots since 1994. His teams have won six Super Bowls.  Kraft has never been a Finalist.

Art Modell:  Modell was the Owner of the Cleveland Browns from 1961-1995 and Baltimore Ravens from 1996-2011.  He has been a Finalist twice.

Buddy Parker: Parker was the Head Coach of the Chicago Cardinals (1949), Detroit Lions (1951-56) and the Pittsburgh Steelers (1957-1964), and a Finalist in 2020.

Dan Reeves:  Reeves was the Head Coach of the Denver Broncos (1981-1992), New York Giants (1993-96) and the Atlanta Falcons (1997-2003), and was a Finalist in 2020.

Art Rooney Jr.:  Employed with the Steelers since 1961, from 1964 through 1986, worked in the Steelers’ Scouting Department, Rooney is currently a Steelers Vice President and member of the Board of Directors.  He has never been a Finalist.

Mike Shanahan:  Shanahan was the Head coach of the Los Angeles Raiders (1988-89), Denver Broncos (1995-2008) and the Washington Redskins (2010-13).  He has never been a Finalist.

Clark Shaughnessy:  The former Head coach of the Los Angeles Rams from 1948-49 and longtime assistant coach for the Washington Redskins from 1944-47 and Chicago Bears from 1951-1962.  He was a three-time Finalist.

John Wooten:  A former nine-year Guard, Wooten was one of the first African-American executives in the NFL, working for the Philadelphia Eagles and Baltimore Ravens.

We here at Notinhalloffame would like to congratulate the late Don Coryell, for making it to this stage.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code