Notinhalloffame names Trea Turner the 2021 Shortstop of the Year

Notinhalloffame names Trea Turner the 2021 Shortstop of the Year
16 Oct
Not in Hall of Fame

The process continues.

We here are have plans to create our own set of post-season awards, which we will look back and retroactively present from 1901 on.  That will take a while, but it has never stopped us before!

Our awards are not be league specific.

Now it is time for our 2021 positional awards.

We will be awarding a positional player of the year, but not only that, offer up the runner-up and second runner-up, meaning that we will have First, Second and Third All-MLB players.

Let’s work our way around the diamond and award the best of the best in Baseball!

*Please note that to qualify, a player must appear in that position at least 50% of the time.

First Team All-MLB: Shortstop of the Year:  Trea Turner, Los Angeles Dodgers & Washington Nationals.  6.5 bWAR, 6.9 fWAR, 195 H, 28 HR, 107 R, 77 RBI, 32 SB, .328/.375/.536/911.

Turner was traded to the Dodgers from the rebuilding Nationals, and he qualifies here, as even though he moved to Second Base in L.A., he played more than 60% of the season at Short.  Turner led the National League in Hits (his second year in a row), Stolen Bases, Batting Average and Total Bases (319).  He was also an All-Star for the first time this year.

Second Team All-MLB: Shortstop:  Carlos Correa, Houston Astros.  7.2 bWAR, 5.8 fWAR, 155 H, 26 HR, 104 R, 92 RBI, 0 SB, .279/.366/.485/850.

Correa easily could have been our winner, and it was a last-minute decision to go with Turner.  The Astro is an All-Star for the second time and set a career-high in Home Runs.

Third Team All-MLB: Shortstop:  Fernando Tatis Jr., San Diego Padres.  6.6 bWAR, 6.1 fWAR, 135 H, 42 HR, 99 R, 97 RBI, 25 SB, .282/.364/.611/975.

Like Correa, Tatis was in serious consideration for the Shortstop of the Year, and this year he won his first of what could be many Home Run Titles.  Had he been better defensively, he might have won this.

Last modified on Saturday, 16 October 2021 22:40
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Comments powered by CComment