The Country Music Hall of Fame announces the Class of 2020

The Country Music Hall of Fame announces the Class of 2020
12 Aug
Not in Hall of Fame

The Country Music Hall of Fame has announced the Country Music Hall of Fame Class of 2020, which will include one Veteran Era Artist, Hank Williams Jr., one Modern Era Artist, Marty Stuart, and one Songwriter, Dean Dillon.

Hank Williams Jr. is the son of legendary county artist, Hank Williams, who himself was inducted into the Country Music Hall nearly 60 years ago.  Williams Jr. had been performing for years, arguably gaining attention based on his name, but it was in the mid-70s when a stylistic change to a more rowdy and rock based country that propelled him to the top of the country charts.  He has eight number one singles on the country charts.

Marty Stuart has been active since 1968 and he has had 30 songs that made the Country charts.  The native of Philadelphia, Mississippi, never went number one, but did have a number two hit with “The Whiskey Ain’t Workin’”, a duet with Travis Tritt.

Dean Dillon was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2002, and in addition to his own songs, he has written many hits for George Strait.  His biggest song, “Tennessee Whiskey” was covered by many artists.  

Notably the Songwriter category is only in place every three years.  It rotates between Non-Performers and Recording and/or Touring Musicians.  

The Class of 2020 will be inducted later this year, but do the pandemic, there is not date or location announced at this time.

We here at would like to congratulate the Country Music Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code