This page generously sponsored by: Nobody yet! Sponsor it on Patreon to be the first name on this list!
3. Deacon Jones

If we were to have made this list based on their iconic stature, Deacon Jones would have been #1 and not #2.

Honestly, he almost was at that the top!

It was Deacon Jones that came up with the term "Sacking the Quarterback" and as such his style of play revolutionized the idea of what a Defensive Player could be.  Jones helped make the idea of being a defensive player a star, and arguably his entire career occurred by accident as he was late round (14th) pick who was chosen for his only for his athleticism and not for his football skill.  Becoming what would be part of the Rams "Fearsome  Foursome," Jones was a pass-rushing dynamo who would (unofficially) sack the QB well over 150 times as a Ram.  He was a five-time First-Team All-Pro and seven-time Pro Bowl With Los Angeles and was quickly the star attraction of the organization.

Despite the hefty (and warranted) praise we are heaping on Deacon Jones, the only reason he did not make the top of this list is that his tenure was not as strong as some of the other elite players here and that does work against him, although his overall tenure with the Los Angeles Rams is undoubtedly impressive.

Jones would enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1980, his first year of eligibility.  Later, in 2009, the Rams retired his number 75, and he was named to the NFL 100th Anniversary Team.

The Bullet Points

  • Position: Defensive End
  • Acquired: Drafted in the 14th Round, 186th Overall in the NFL Draft 12/28/60.
  • Departed: Traded to the San Diego Chargers with Greg Wojick and Lee White for Jeff Staggs and three Draft Picks 1/29/71.
  • Games Played: 151
  • Notable Statistics:

    141 Games Started
    2 Interceptions
    50 Interception Return Yards
    12 Fumble Recoveries
    10 Fumble Recovery Yards
    2 Safeties
    159.5 (Unofficial) Quarterback Sacks
    2 Kick Returns
    12 Kick Return Yards
    109 Approximate Value

  • Major Accolades and Awards:

    First Team All-Pro (1965, 1966, 1967, 1968 & 1969)
    Second Team All-Pro (1964)
    Pro Bowl Selection (1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969 & 1970)

Last modified on Saturday, 01 May 2021 21:18
Tagged under

Add comment

Security code