Jay-Z headlines the Finalists for the Songwriters HOF

Jay-Z headlines the Finalists for the Songwriters HOF
21 Oct
Not in Hall of Fame
The Songwriters Hall of Fame has followed their tradition of announcing their Finalists for their Class of 2016 shortly after the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced their Finalists. 

The Nominees are as follows:


Bryan Adams

Cat Stevens


David Gates

George Michael

Gloria Estefan


Jeff Lynne

Kool & The Gang


Max Martin

Sly Stone

Vince Gill

Non-Performing Nominees are as follows:

Ailee Willis

Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham

Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis

Kenny Nolan

Maury Yeston

Paul Overstreet

P.F. Sloan

Randy Goodrum

Steve Barri

Tony Macaulay

William “Mickey” Stevenson

To be eligible for the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame, 20 years must pass before their first hit song.  If Jay-Z gets inducted, it will mark the first time that a rapper was inducted. 

Five songwriters or songwriting pairs will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at a gala in New York City on June 15, 2017.

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code