The Football Hall of Fame Finalists are out

The Football Hall of Fame has narrowed down their selections to fifteen finalists, many of which hold high ranks on our football list.

In order of our rank, the candidates are 2. Curtis Martin, 3. Will Shields, 4. Willie Roaf, 5. Cris Carter, 6. Cortez Kennedy, 9. Dermontti Dawson, 13. Tim Brown, 14. Jerome Bettis, 15. Andre Reed, 16. Chris Doleman, 19. Charles Haley, 23. Aeneas Williams and 45. Kevin Green.

Also up are Bill Parcells and Edward DiBartolo Jr.  In addition there are two senior candidates in Dick Stanfel and Jack Butler.

Notable omissions to us were Don Coryell and Roger Craig, both of which we would have had as finalists.

On Feb 5, the Football Hall of Fame will select 4 to 7 inductees for enshrinement.... Who should they be? 

Last modified on Thursday, 19 March 2015 18:47

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


0 #20 Knuckles -0001-11-30 00:00
What we have to do is get those brainwashing devices from those media guys, so we can start having our own opinions, because lord knows we only go by what the media tells us, including the voters. Maybe we all should watch the games this weekend instead of waiting for Sportscenter and the next day's paper to find out about it. Because, evidently, that's all everyone does to formulate their opinions. It may take the burden off the one or two people on the earth who actually have seen a football game. And that confounded evil media.
0 #19 jimmy26 -0001-11-30 00:00
I think the committee is starting to see things at least with Roaf a little clearer. Those 11 pro bowls were not definitive of the type of player he is. He is a very good run blocking tackle. That is it. There are ten or more like him still not in. If he ever does get in Everest, it will be a shame especially with so many other candidates more worthy. I was thinking of a good comparison for you. How about Mark Gastineau? Who you do despise? A one dimensional player who was a bit overrated by the media during his heydey. Just on the opposite end of the ball. Biggest difference is of course longevity in Roaf's favor but Gastineau was the key player who finally got them to recognize sacks as an official stat due to is popularity. I am sure all the defensive players who now have a more legitimate way of beign evaluated would thank him especially the likes of a Greene or a Doleman who were very similar players. I would say if Gastineau ever got in then I would be the first to push for Roaf. But we know that won't happen due to the media turning on him later in his career (mainly after his career due to off the field antics and a bad atttitude). I just hate the fact people are judging players due to the media hype and their relatioships with the players. A good example is Warren Moon versus Charles Haley. Moon got in very easily for a guy who beat his wife and was a 500 quarterback. He never won anything but he is super friendly with the media as can be attested to his burgeoning announcing career. Haley was not the most friendly guy but never commited any crimes (kind of like TO) and is being held out though obviously he has the credentials to get in (5 rings and the dominant pass rusher for all five of those teams). Let's just look at the players and not the hype or at least not what those idiot media guys are trying to have us believe.
0 #18 EverestMeisterNeg1 -0001-11-30 00:00
I always thought Keuchenberg should'v e gotten in, maybe in 2004 or 2005 when they only inducted 4 people. But whatever.
Peter King has been wrong before. Then again, if Dawson does get in I wouldn't be shocked, he's been waiting a long time and this could very well be his year. Should that be the case, Roaf will get his chance eventually although he could end up waiting several years.
0 #17 Spheniscus -0001-11-30 00:00
And didn't Kuechenberg make it to the final 5 only to lose the up or down vote at the doorstep? Always thought that was a particularly tough way to go.

Good news for you this year Jimmy is that Peter King said in his Tuesday column that Dermontii Dawson is as "close to a slam dunk" as anyone in this class. If they are only putting in one OL, that is bad news for Roaf from one of the 44 guys in the room.
0 #16 EverestMeisterNeg1 -0001-11-30 00:00
Except that Kuechenberg only made the finalist category in his last 8 years. Good luck keeping a guy out for 20.
The closest we got to that was Carl Eller but he made it on his last try.
0 #15 jimmy26 -0001-11-30 00:00
One step at a time. Just keep the bum out for one more year and we will take our chances. See Bob Kuchenberg for reference.
0 #14 EverestMeisterNeg1 -0001-11-30 00:00
Morten Andersen has no shot of getting inducted in 2013. He might get in at some point, but there's no way he gets in first ballot.
The 2015 class is even better than 2013: Orlando Pace, Walter Jones (hmm... more offensive tackles,) Isaac Bruce, Torry Holt, Kevin Mawae, Junior Seau, and Zach Thomas. Oh yeah, and Kurt Warner too... interestingl y enough, that's 4 players from the greatest show on turf.
This year's class is kind of interesting, a ton of great players but no "wow&qu ot; candidate. It is probably the worst class in a while, which speaks volumes about how great recent hall of fame finalist classes have been.
Oh yeah, and jimmy, you do know that even if Roaf doesn't make it this year, there is no conceivable way that he doesn't make the hall of fame at some point... unless he goes on a killing spree or something like that.
0 #13 Spheniscus -0001-11-30 00:00
Yeah Jimmy, next year's group has both Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen coming in for the offensive line. Going to be tougher and tougher to get in from that position. Also first time eligible will be Michael Strahan, Warren Sapp, the late Steve McNair, Priest Holmes, Bryant Young and Morten Andersen (a kicker with a shot? maybe).
0 #12 jimmy26 -0001-11-30 00:00
Weakest group in years with no great players on entire list. Is there really anyone on this list you would consider top five at their position? Or even top ten? Some very good players for sure with one obvious ridiculous nominee per usual. With that being said the group I would choose would be Haley (easily the best candidate on this list), Reed (way better career than Brown or Carter), Martin (consistency and longevity do count for something), Debartolo (greatest owneer ever), Doleman and the two veterans. I do not think any of the others deserve induction with the possible exception of Greene and Dawson. The 5 I think will get in are Haley, Martin, Dawson, Parcells and Reed with the two veterans. I liked Doleman over Dawson but you know they are not putting 2 defensive linemen in so i went with Dawson for a hope and a prayer over the two overrated Chefs. Really my biggest hope is that Dawson gets in cuz we all know who that would bump out! And next year there are some real LT's coming up for enshrinement .
0 #11 Knuckles -0001-11-30 00:00
Indeed we will, Everest. I think the candidates, for the most part, are really stacked together this year. I'm by no means married to my list and would not be disappointed if your pickes were closer than mine.

Add comment

Security code