The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame named their Preliminary Candidates

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame named their Preliminary Candidates
22 Dec
Not in Hall of Fame

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame has announced their Nominees for the Class of 2022.

As usual, it is a gigantic list, so we will not be doing brief resumes of each candidate, and will do so when they become a Finalist.

Finalists from the North American and Women’s Committee will be announced All-Star Weekend, with the full Class of 2022 announced during the Final Four.  

At present, the 2022 Enshrinement Ceremony will take place on September 9-10.  

The Nominees are: (*indicates a First-Time Nominee)

North American Committee Nominees:

Ken Anderson (Coach)

Fletcher Aritt (Coach)

Johnny Bach (Coach)

Gene Bess (Coach)

Chauncey Billups (Player) Ranked #4 on the Basketball List

Rick Byrd (Coach)

Muggsy Bogues (Player)

Irv Brown (Referee)

Jim Burch (Referee)

Marcus Camby (Player) Ranked #63 on

Tom Chambers (Player) Ranked #24 on

John Clougherty (Referee)

Michael Cooper (Player) Ranked #28 on

Joey Crawford (Referee)

Jack Curran (Coach)

Mark Eaton (Player)

Cliff Ellis (Coach)

Hugh Evans (Referee)

Michael Finley (Player) Ranked #58 on

Steve Fisher (Coach)
Manu Ginobili* (Player) Ranked #3 on

Leonard Hamilton (Coach)

Richard Hamilton (Player) Ranked #90 on

Tim Hardaway (Player) Ranked #2 on

Lou Henson (Coach)

Ed Hightower (Referee)

David Hixon* (Coach)

Bob Huggins (Coach)

Mark Jackson (Player) Ranked #70 on

Herman Johnson (Coach)

Marques Johnson (Player) Ranked #20 on

George Karl (Coach)

Gene Keady (Coach)

Ken Kern (Coach)

Shawn Marion (Player) Ranked #23 on

Rollie Massimino (Coach)

Bob McKillop (Coach)

Danny Miles (Coach)

Steve Moore (Coach)

Dick Motta (Coach)

Jake O’Donnell (Referee)

Jere Quinn (Coach)

Lamont Robinson (Player)

Bo Ryan (Coach)

Bob Saulsbury (Coach)

Norm Sloan (Coach)

Willie West (Coach)

Buck Williams (Player) Ranked #7 on

John Williamson (Player)

Paul Westhead (Coach)

Women’s Committee Nominations:

Leta Andrews (Coach)

Jennifer Azzi (Player)

Gary Blair* (Coach)

Swin Cash (Player)

Becky Hammon (Player)

Suzie McConnell (Player)

Debbie Miller-Palmore (Player)

Kim Mulkey (Player)

Marianne Stanley (Coach)

Valerie Still (Player)
Marian Washington (Coach)

Lindsey Whalen* (Player)

Contributor Committee Nominations (Direct-Elect Category):

Dick Baumgartner

Henry Bibby

Marty Blake

Vic Bubas

Doug Collins

Larry Costello

Wayne Duke

Bill Foster

Bob Gibbons*

Simon Gourdine

Tim Grgurich

Del Harris

Johnny “Red” Kerr

Tom Konchalski

Bobby Lewis

Herbert Livsey

Fred McCall*

Jack McCloskey

Speedy Morris

Johnny Most

Dennis Murphy

Joe O’Toole

Billy Packer

Jack Powers

Will Robinson*

Gene Shue

Jim Valvano

Donnie Walsh

Jerome Williams

Early African-American Pioneers Committee Nominations (Direct-Elect Category):

Dick Barnett

Clarence “Puggy” Bell

Sonny Boswell

Bill Garrett

Inman Jackson

Harry “Bucky” Lew

Davage “Dave” Minor

Hudson Oliver

Al “Runt” Pullins

James “Pappy” Ricks

Paul Robeson

Eyre Saitch

William “Wee Willie” Smith

International Committee Nominations (Direct-Elect Category):

Jacky Chazalon

Mirza Delibasic*

Alphonso Ford

Giuseppe Giergia

Dusan Ivkovic

Semen Khalipski

Vladimir Kondrashin

Radivoj Korac

Eduardo Lamas

Marcos Leite

Shimon Mizrahi

Amaury Pasos

Dan Peterson

Manuel Sainz

Togo Soares

Ranko Zeravica

Veterans Committee Nominations (Direct-Elect Category):

1936 U.S. Olympic Team (Team)

1972 U.S. Olympic Team (Team)

Tom Blackburn (Coach)

Sid Borgia (Referee)

Darel Carrier (Player)

Jack Coleman (Player)

Charles Eckman (Referee)

Leroy Edwards (Player)

Leo Ferris (Contributor)

Clarence “Bevo” Francis (Player)

Hy Gotkin (Player)*

Travis Grant (Player)

Cam Henderson (Coach)

Robert Hopkins (Player)

Lou Hudson (Player) Ranked #6 on

Charles Keinath (Player)

Kentucky Wesleyan 1966, 1968 & 1969 (Team)

Bob Love (Player) Ranked #51 on

Loyola of Chicago (Team)

Billy Markward (Contributor)

Ed McCluskey (Coach)

Ray Mears (Coach)

Francis Meehan (Player)

Lucias Mitchell (Coach)

Donald “Dudley” Moore (Coach)

Joe Mullaney (Coach)*

Willie Naulls (Player) Ranked #55 on

North Catholic High School JV (Philadelphia, PA) (Team)

Philadelphia, PA (Team)

Philadelphia SPHAS (Team)

Glenn Roberts (Player)

Holcombe Rucker (Contributor)

Kenny Sailors (Player)

Fred Schaus (Contributor)

Sam Schulman (Contributor)

Paul Silas (Player) Ranked #27 on

Dick Van Arsdale (Player)

Tom Van Arsdale (Player)

Perry Wallace (Player)

Max Zaslofsky (Player) Ranked #1 on

Women’s Veterans Committee Nominations (Direct-Elect Category):

Alline Banks Sprouse (Player)

Edmonton Commercial Grads (Team)

John Head (Coach)

Nashville Business College (Team)

Lometa Odom (Player)
Harley Redin (Coach)

Theresa Shank (Player)

Hazel Walker (Player)

We would like to congratulate all of those who made it to this stage.         

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code