Notinhalloffame names Salvador Perez the 2021 Catcher of the Year

Notinhalloffame names Salvador Perez the 2021 Catcher of the Year
14 Oct
Not in Hall of Fame

The process continues.

We here are have plans to create our own set of post-season awards, which we will look back and retroactively present from 1901 on.  That will take a while, but it has never stopped us before!

Our awards are not be league specific.

Now it is time for our 2021 positional awards.

We will be awarding a positional player of the year, but not only that, offer up the runner-up and second runner-up, meaning that we will have First, Second and Third All-MLB players.

Let’s work our way around the diamond and award the best of the best in Baseball!

*Please note that to qualify, a player must appear in that position at least 50% of the time.

Catcher of the Year (First Team All-MLB):  Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals.  5.3 bWAR, 3.4 fWAR, 169 H, 48 HR, 88 R, 121 RBI, 0 SB, .273/.316/.544/.859.

Advanced metrics show that Perez is declining defensively, but this was the best offensive output of his career.  While we were all watching Shohei Ohtani and Vladimir Guerrero battle for the American League Home Run Title, it was Perez who snuck past Ohtani to tie Guerrero for the win, also while setting a new Home Run record for Catchers with 48 (though only 33 were accumulated as a Catcher).  Nevertheless, Perez earns this honor, while also again being the unquestioned Royals MVP. 

Catcher: Second Team All-MLB:  Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants.  3.5 bWAR, 4.9 fWAR, 120 H, 18 HR, 68 R, 56 RBI, 0 SB, .304/.390/.499/.889.

Posey could have challenged Perez for First Team, but he missed a lot of Games, only appearing in 113 this year.  He went to his eighth All-Star Game this year, and had his first .300 Season since 2017.

Catcher: Third Team All-MLB:  J.T. Realmuto, Philadelphia Phillies.  3.4 bWAR, 4.4 fWAR, 125 H, 17 HR, 64 R, 73 RBI, 13 SB, .263/.343/.449/.782.

Realmuto made his third All-Star Game this year and second with Philadelphia.   

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code