gold star for USAHOF

The University of Iowa Athletic Hall of Fame announces the Class of 2021

The University of Iowa Athletic Hall of Fame announces the Class of 2021
08 Jul
Not in Hall of Fame

Regular visitors of know that we are slowly working on the top 50 of every major team in the NHL, NBA, NFL and MLB.  Once that is done, we intend to look at how each team honor their past players, coaches and executives. Eventually, we are going to get to that of the Division I schools, and conferences.  As such, it is news to us that the University of Iowa has announced ten new members to their Athletic Hall of Fame.

The ten new members are:

Roy Marble Jr., Men’s Basketball 1986-89.  Marble scored 2,116 career Points, and held the school record until this past season.  He was a three-time All-Big Ten Selection, and a former Big Ten Freshman of the Year.  He would play briefly for Atlanta in the NBA.

Ed Podolak, Football 1966-68.  Podolak rushed for 937 Yards and eight Touchdowns in 1968 and was named the team MVP that year.  He would later play nine ears in the NFL for Kansas City where he was a member of the Super Bowl IV winning team.  Podolak returned to Iowa Football as an analyst for their radio broadcasts.

Frank “Kinney” Holbrook, Football & Track & Field 1895-97.  Holbrook was the first African-American athlete in school history, and he lettered in both Football and Track.  He had 12 Touchdowns in 1896, and helped the Hawkeyes win a share of the Western Interstate University Football Association Championship.

Dan Bachman, Men’s Gymnastics 1982-86.  Bachman was a seven-time Big-Ten Champion and three-time All-American.  He would lead Iowa to a Big Ten Championship in 1986.

Kari Hamel, Women’s Volleyball 1985-89.  Hamel took Iowa to their first ever NCAA Championships in 1989.  She was a two-time First Team All-Big Ten Selection and was named to the 1980s All-Decade Team in the Big Ten.

Kristi Hanks, Softball 1999-2002.  Hanks was a three-time Big Ten Selection, two-time Big Ten Pitcher of the Year and took the Hawkeyes to a College World Series appearance in 2001.

Diane Nukuri, Track & Field 2006-08. Nukuri won the 2007 Big Ten Cross Country Title and would be a three-time All-American.  She set eight school records, and would compete in three Olympic Games for Burundi.

Fred Mims, Administrator.  Mims was the Athletic Administrator for 38 Years.

The class will be inducted on September 3, 2021, the day before the Hawkeyes open their Football Season against Indiana.

We would like to congratulate the newest members of the University of Iowa Athletic Hall of Fame.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Related items

Comments powered by CComment