The St. Louis Cardinals announce five candidates for their Hall of Fame

The St. Louis Cardinals announce five candidates for their Hall of Fame
02 Mar
Not in Hall of Fame

The St. Louis Cardinals have announced the five former players who fans can vote for to enter their franchise Hall of Fame.

Those players are:

Steve Carlton, Pitcher: 1965-71, 77-62, 3.10 ERA, 1.28 WHIP. Carlton’s career began in St. Louis, where he debuted in 1965, and became a full-time member of the starting rotation in 1967.  He would be named to the All-Star Team in 1968, 1969 and 1971, the last of which saw “Lefty” win 20 Games.  Carlton entered the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1994.

Keith Hernandez, First Base:  1974-83, .299/.385/.448, 1,217 H, 81 HR, 595 RBI.  Hernandez was the co-winner of the 1979 MVP in a year that he won the Batting Title (.344), and led the NL in Doubles (48) and Runs Scored (116).  A two-time All-Star as a Cardinal, Hernandez would also earn six Gold Gloves and one Silver Slugger in St. Louis.

Matt Morris, Pitcher:  1977-2005, 101-62, 3.61 ERA, 1.27 WHIP.  Morris went to two All-Star Games in St. Louis, and he was 14 shy of 1,000 Strikeouts with the team.  Morris led the NL in Wins in 2001, and was third in Cy Young voting that year.

Edgar Renteria, Shortstop:  1999-2004, .290/.347/.420, 973 H, 71 HR, 451 RBI.  Renteria went to three All-Star Games in St. Louis, and in 2002 and 2003 won both the Silver Slugger and Gold Glove.  

Lee Smith, Pitcher:  1990-93, 160 Saves, 2.90 ERA, 1.15 WHIP.  Smith was not with the Cardinals for long, but he led the league in Saves twice.  A three-time All-Star in St. Louis, Smith was the runner-up for the Cy Young in 1991.  Smith was chosen for the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2019.

The leading vote-getter will be the lone inductee for the Class of 2021.  That person will be honored on April 17, along with 2020 inductees, Tom Herr, John Tudor and Bill White.

You can vote for this year’s class here.

The Cardinals Hall of Fame was created in 2014, and had s quickly become one of our favorite franchise halls.  

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code