Lleyton Hewitt headlines the International Tennis HOF

Lleyton Hewitt headlines the International Tennis HOF
25 Feb
Not in Hall of Fame

The International Tennis Hall of Fame has announced the Class of 2021, and it will be headlined by former World No.1, Lleyton Hewitt.

Hewitt won 30 Titles, including the 2001 U.S. Open and 2002 Wimbledon, and the Australian star led his nation to two Davis Cup wins (1999 & 2003).  Hewitt was ranked number one in 2001, at the age of 20, making him the youngest man at the time to ascend to the top.

Hewitt will be joined by the “Original 9” of women’s professional tennis and tennis teacher, Dennis Van der Meer.

The Original 9 consisted of Peaches Barthowicz, Rosie Casals, Julie Heldman, Billie Jean King, Kristy Pigeon, Nancy Richey, Valerie Ziegenfuss, Judy Tegart Dalton and Kerry Melville Reid.  The nine women broke away from the main tour and formed their own in protest to receive equitable pay.

Van der Meer is from Namibia, and would later immigrate to the United States and he developed a standardised manner of tennis instruction.  The induction will be posthumous, as Van der Meer passed away in 2019.

The ceremony will take place on July 17, in Newport, Rhode Island.

We here at Notinhalloffame.com would like to congratulate the newest members of the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code