gold star for USAHOF

8. Steve Atwater

This page generously sponsored by: Nobody yet! Sponsor it on Patreon to be the first name on this list!
8. Steve Atwater

Steve Atwater was one of the most hard-hitting Safeties ever, and his highlight reel reeks of tackles and hots that would be illegal today.  

The first rounder from Arkansas was the runner-up for the Defensive Rookie of the Year Award, and he helped bring the Broncos to the Super Bowl.  Atwater's already strong game would improve, and he was chosen for seven consecutive Pro Bowls (1990-96) with a pair of them being deemed worthy for a First Team All-Pro Selection.  As the decade was reaching its end, Atwater and the Broncos would win two straight Super Bowls (XXXII and XXXIII) with the first one considered to be Atwater's last real hurrah as a superstar where he had six tackles, a sack, and a forced fumble.

The Broncos chose Atwater for their Ring of Fame in 2007, and in 2020, he recieved the call to enter the hallowed halls of Canton.

The Bullet Points

  • Position: Free Safety
  • Acquired: Selected in the 1st Round, 20th Overall in the NFL Draft 4/23/89.
  • Departed:

    Signed as a Free Agent with the New York Jets before the 1999 Season.

  • Games Played: 155
  • Notable Statistics:

    155 Games Started
    24 Interceptions
    408 Interception Return Yards
    1 Interception Return Touchdown
    6 Forced Fumbles
    8 Fumble Recoveries
    47 Fumble Recovery Yards
    5 Quarterback Sacks
    1,125 Combined Tackles
    294 Solo Tackles*
    87 Assisted Tackles*
    1 Kick Return
    0 Kick Return Yards
    97 Approximate Value

    14 Playoff Games
    1 Interception
    0 Interception Return Yards
    1.0 Quarterback Sack
    28 Combined Tackles
    23 Solo Tackles*
    5 Assisted Tackles*

    *Solo and Assisted Tackles were not calculated until the 1994 season
  • Major Accolades and Awards:

    Super Bowl Champion (XXXII & XXXIII)
    First Team All-Pro (1991 & 1992)
    Second Team All-Pro (1996)
    Pro Bowl (1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996 & 1998)
    All-Rookie (1989)

Last modified on Sunday, 07 August 2022 01:00

Comments powered by CComment