A+ A A-

2008-2010 Hockey HOF Inductees are up

Over the last few months, we here at have been so focused on other endeavors at the site, that we neglected to tell you about the continuing opportunity fro you to cast your opinion on existing Hockey Hall of Famers.

With that in mind, we here at have expended greatly to allow you to vote on Hockey Hall of Fame inductees from 2008-2010.

The Players/Builders from that existing time frame include:

The 2008 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Ed Chynowyth, who was a major force in creating the Canadian Hockey League.

Glenn Anderson, a six time Stanley Cup winner and four time NHL All Star. 

Igor Larionov, a very successful player from the Soviet Union in the 1980’s and a dominant forward.

The 2009 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Brett Hull, the former Hart Trophy Winner and three time First Team All Star.

Brian Leetch, a two time Norris Trophy Winner and the Conn Smythe Winner from the New York Rangers’ ’94 Stanley Cup Champions.

Patrick Roy, a three time Vezina Trophy winner, three time Conn Smythe Trophy winner and four time Stanley Cup Champion.

Lou Lamiorello, a three time Stanley Cup executive with the New Jersey Devils.

Luc Robitaille, an eight time post season NHL All Star and former Calder Trophy winner.

Steve Yzerman, a long time Detroit Red Wing who won the Stanley Cup in 2002 and was an eight time Post Season NHL All Star.

The 2010 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Angela James, considered to be the first great female hockey player.

Cammi Granato, the first true female American female star hockey player.

Daryl Seaman, who helped bring the NHL to Calgary.

Dino Cicarelli, a four time All Star who was known mostly for his time with the Minnesota North Stars.

Jim Devellano, who would win seven Stanley Cups as a scout for the New York Islanders and General Manager for the Detroit Red Wings.

I think you know what we are looking for you to do!

When your time permits, take a look at this group and let us know if their Hall of Fame inductions are justified!

Awards = HOF? Part Sixteen: The Frank J. Selke Trophy

We here at thought it would be fun to take a look at the major awards in North American team sports and see how it translates into Hall of Fame potential.

Needless to say, different awards in different sports yield hall of fame potential.  In basketball, the team sport with the least amount of players on a roster, the dividend for greatness much higher.  In baseball, it is not as much as a great individual season does not have the same impact.

Steve Yzerman

Easily one of the greatest Detroit Red Wings of all time, Steve Yzerman spent his entire 22 year career in Motown and amassed a whopping 1,755 points for them. Yzerman was a godsend to the struggling Red Wings, who were an awful team in the early 80’s, and slowly became a power under Yzerman’s leadership. That was not a misnomer, as he would become the youngest captain in the franchise’s history. He entered the NHL as a good scorer, but he reached elite status for a six year stretch where from 1988 to 1993 he topped the 100 point mark. As he got older, he still was a decent scorer, but he was more than just a leader, as his defensive skills shone through as new offensive stars came to play for Detroit. His loyalty, hard work and dedication paid off as “Stevie Y” was the leader of a now powerful Red Wings team and won three Stanley Cups there. Yzerman not only became a legend in Detroit, but across the border in his native country of Canada, where his leadership was instrumental on their successful International teams. He would later take over as the General Manager for Canada in their 2007 and 2008 World Championships and was the Executive Director for the successful Canadian 2010 Winter Olympic Hockey Team.
Subscribe to this RSS feed