A+ A A-

The Hockey HOF TBD section has been updated

Many of our regular visitors are aware that in our Hockey section, we put up active players who are on the downside of their career.  The reason we do this is that for the Hockey Hall of Fame, retired players are eligible after only three years and the “HOF Clock” begins much sooner.

As such, we have added additional active players to our TBD (to be determined) list.

They are as follows:

Chris Kunitz, a former First Team NHL Star and three time Stanley Cup Champion.

Daniel Sedin, a former Art Ross Trophy Winner.

Dany Heatley, a former Calder Trophy winner and First Team All Star.

Francois Beauchemin, a former Stanley Cup Champion and Second Team All Star.

Henrik Sedin, a former Hart Trophy and Art Ross Trophy Winner.

Martin Havlat, a former two time All Star.

Ryan Miller, a former Vezina Trophy Winner.

They join existing players, Alex Tanguay, Andrei Markov, Brian Campbell, Dan Boyle, Eric Brewer, Jarome Iginla, Jaromir Jagr, Joe Thornton, Marian Hossa, Mark Streit, Mike Ribeiro, Niklas Backstrom, Patrik Elias, Patrick Marleau, Pavel Datsyuk, Roberto Luongo, Shane Doan, Shawn Horcoff, Simon Gagne, Stephane Robidas and Zdeno Chara.

You know what we want you to do!

Take a look at this crop of potential Hockey Hall of Fame inductees and tell us if they belong in Toronto.

As always, we here at thank you for your support!

The Sedin Twins to retire from the NHL

A major announcement took place in the world of the National Hockey League as the Sedin twins of the Vancouver Canucks have announced their impending retirement at the end of the regular season.

Through clever maneuvering in the 1999 Draft the Canucks were able to draft Henrik and Daniel Sedin first and second overall to create the backbone of the franchise for the next seventeen years. While they did not join the NHL right away (they elected to play one more season professional in Sweden) they would slowly become an elite scoring tandem in the biggest professional league in hockey.

Playing Centre and Left Wing on the same line respectively, both Sedins will retire with over 1,000 career Points, which while it does not put them in the top 40 all-time in scoring is more than Hall of Fame worthy in the current era. The Hall of Fame also looks at the trophy case and with that the Sedins are more than adequately qualified.

In the 2009-10 season, Henrik Sedin won the Hart Trophy and the Art Ross. No player who has ever won both ever failed to get into the Hall. Throw in two First Team All Star selections and a King Clancy Award and the mantle seems stocked for Henrik.

Daniel Sedin may never have won a Hart Trophy, but in the 2010-11 season he won the Lester B. Pearson Award, which is the MVP award as voted on by the players. That year he was also an Art Ross Trophy winner and a First Team All Star.

In can’t be forgotten that the Hockey Hall of Fame considers international accomplishments. The Sedins were Gold Medalists in the 2006 Olympics and Silver Medalists in the 2014 Games. They were also Gold Medalists in the 2013 World Championships.

To be clear, the Sedins only said that they were retiring from the NHL and did not say whether or not they would continue to play in Europe. Should they do so, their Hall of Fame clock does not begin as the institution recognizes competitive play in Europe and deems those players active. As such, we will wait to see what transpires before we

Regardless it seems unlikely that the Sedins won’t get in immediately and will likely go in together.

We here at would like to congratulate Henrik and Daniel Sedin on a wonderful career in the National Hockey League and wish them the best in the post NHL career.

The Vancouver Canucks will retire the numbers of the Sedin Twins.

Regular visitors of know that we are slowly working on the top 50 of every major team in the NHL, NBA, NFL and MLB. Once that is done, we intend to look at how each team honor their past players and executive.  As such it is news to us that yesterday the Vancouver Canucks have announced that they will be retiring the numbers of both the Sedin (Daniel & Henrik) in February.

The Sedins were drafted 2nd(Daniel) and 3rd(Henrik) respectively in the 1999 Draft and the twins would play all 17 of his seasons with the Canucks and it when it was all said and done the brothers would become the best players in franchise history and they are the only siblings to exceed 1,000 Points each. 

Daniel Sedin is first all-time in Goals (393), and is second in Assists (648), Points (1,041) and Games Played (1,306). He would win the Art Ross Trophy and the Lester B. Pearson Award in the 2010/11 season and was also a First Team All-Star.  The season before he was a Second Team All-Star.

Henrik Sedin is first all-time in Points (1,070), Assists (830) and Games Played (1,330).  He would win the Hart Trophy and Art Ross Trophy in the 2009/10 season and that year and the one after he would be name a First Team All-Star.

Daniels’s #22 and Henrik’s #33 joins Pavel Bure (#10), Stan Smyl (#12), Trevor Linden and Markus Naslund (#19).

Not only are they having their numbers retired, the Canucks will be celebrating their accomplishments over three home games.   Danieland Henrikare eligible for the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2021 and will likely both enter on their first year of eligibility.  

We here at would like to congratulate Daniel and Henrik Sedin for earning this very prestigious honor.

Subscribe to this RSS feed