A+ A A-

7. Ron Francis

When Ron Francis retired, he was second all-time in Assists with 1,249.  It needs to be mentioned that, 449 of them came as a Pittsburgh Penguin.

2005-2007 Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees are up.

Over the last few months, we here at have been so focused on other endeavors at the site, that we neglected to tell you about the continuing opportunity fro you to cast your opinion on existing Hockey Hall of Famers.

With that in mind, we here at have expended greatly to allow you to vote on Hockey Hall of Fame inductees from 2005-2007.

The Players/Builders from that existing time frame include:

The 2005 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Cam Neely, the gritty former Boston Bruin and four time Second Team All Star.

Murray Costello, who had a twenty year stint as the President of the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association.

Valari Kharmalov, a Soviet star from the 1970’s.

The 2006 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Dick Duff, a six time Stanley Cup Champion

Harley Hotchkiss, who brought the NHL to Calgary and had a long tenure as the Chairman on the NHL Board of Governors.

Herb Brooks, the Head Coach for Team U.S.A.’s “Miracle on Ice” team in 1980.

Patrick Roy, a three time Vezina Trophy winner, three time Conn Smythe Trophy winner and four time Stanley Cup Champion.

The 2007 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Al MacInnis, a four time First Team NHL All Star and the Conn Smythe Trophy Winner for the Calgary Flames during their lone Stanley Cup Championship.

Jim Gregory, who was the Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee when he was selected.

Mark Messier, a two tome Hart Trophy winner, a four time First Team All Star and a six time Stanley Cup Champion.

Ron Francis, a longtime stat accumulator with two Stanley Cup Rings with the Pittsburgh Penguins and a former Frank J. Selke Award winner.

Scott Stevens, a three time Stanley Cup Champion with the New Jersey Devils and two time First Team All NHL member.

I think you know what we are looking for you to do!

When your time permits, take a look at this group and let us know if their Hall of Fame inductions are justified!

Kurri, Francis and McKenzie are named to the HHOF Selection Committee

For our purposes, this is actually big news.

To enter the Hockey Hall of Fame you have to receive 14 votes out of 18 from the Hockey Hall of Fame Committee, so when three of them are replaced, it stands to reason that we here at are interested in knowing who it is.

Hall of Fame inductees, Jari Kurri and Ron Francis have been chosen to be a part of the selection committee.  Kurri is currently the General Manager of Jokerit, a Finnish club in the KHL and Francis is the Vice President and the General Manager of the Carolina Hurricanes. 

The third man selection is TSN hockey insider, Bob McKenzie, a well known fixture on NHL broadcasts for the Canadian sports flagship network. 

The trip replaces Lanny McDonald, another Hall of Famer, who has stepped down to take over as the Chairman of the Board for the Hall.  The other two replaced are American broadcaster, Mike Emrick and Hall of Fame inductee, Peter Stastny, both of which served their three year terms on the committee.

It is worth noting that TSN’s Michael Farber, Toronto Globe and Mail columnist, Eric Duhatschek and Hockey Hall of Fame inductee, Bill Torrey had their three year terms renewed and will continue on the committee.

The other 12 members of the Hockey Hall of Fame selection committee are:

John Davidson, a former goalie and the current President of Hockey Operations for the Columbus Blue Jackets.

Scotty Bowman, a 14 time Stanley Cup winner as a coach or executive.

David Branch, the Commissioner of the OHL.

Brian Burke, the President of Hockey Operations for the Calgary Flames.

Colin Campbell, the Executive Vice President of Hockey Operations for the National Hockey League.

Marc de Foy, a columnist for Le Journal de Montreal.

Mike Gartner, a Hockey Hall of Famer.

Anders Hedberg, a former NHL player and Swedish star and executive.

Igor Larionov, a Hockey Hall of Famer and former Soviet star.

David Polie, the President of Business Operations and General Mnager of the Nashville Predators.

Luc Robitaille, a Hockey Hall of Famer and the President of Business Operations with the Los Angeles Kings.

With no clear cut Hall of Fame inductees for next year, this could be the opportunity for players like Eric Lindros, Paul Kariya, Dave Andreychuk and Sergei Makarov to get the call after years of waiting on the ballot.

These eighteen men will decide the next class in June of next year, and clearly it will be the most interesting one yet!

Ron Francis

It may surprise the casual NHL fan (or even many of the die-hard fan) that Ron Francis is number two all-time in career assists. Actually it is easy to see why Francis is sometimes forgotten. Francis may be a member of the 500 goal club, but he never was in the top ten in goals. He also never played for Canada in the Olympics, the World Cup or the Canada Cup. He did win the Stanley Cup with the Penguins twice, but that was not his team, as it was Mario Lemieux’s. Still, Francis was a two time Assists winner in the NHL and a three time Lady Byng Award winner. Throw in a Selke Award showcasing his defensive prowess, and you have the makings of legitimate first ballot Hall of Fame entry, and one whose durability and solid two way play should be celebrated more than it is.
Subscribe to this RSS feed