A+ A A-

The Pittsburgh Steelers announce their Hall of Honor

As our eventual intention is to look at how each team honors their former players and executives we are thrilled that for the first time ever the Pittsburgh Steelers have finally unveiled their Hall of Honor, a 27 man class.

This has been a long time coming, so much so that this group comprises 23 Pro Football Hall of Famers.

Let’s get right to this very esteemed group:

Art Rooney: The founding owner of the Steelers and President of the team from 1933 to 1974. He also served as the Chairman until 1988.

Dan Rooney: The son of Art Rooney, Dan Rooney was the Steelers President from 1975 to 2002. He spearheaded the push for minority hires as coaches or GM creating the “Rooney Rule”, whereby all NFL teams must interview a minority candidate for a coaching or GM job.

Chuck Noll: The Head Coach for Pittsburgh from 1969 to 1991, Noll is a four time Super Bowl winner with a regular season record of 193-148-1. He would win two more Super Bowls with the Steelers as an Executive.

Jack Butler: a four time First Team All-Pro Cornerback from 1956 to 1959. He led the NFL in Interceptions in 1957.

Dick Hoak: A Pro Bowl Running Back in 1968 and the Running Coach from 1972 to 2007. He has five Super Bowl Rings as a Coach.

Joe Greene: “Mean” Joe was a four time Super Bowl Champion and a Defensive Tackle who went to ten Pro Bowls while earning six First Team All-Pro Selections. He was the Defensive Player of the Year in both 1972 and 1974.

Terry Bradshaw: The Quarterback of the 1970’s Steelers dynasty, Terry Bradshaw was a three time Pro Bowler and two time Super Bowl MVP.

Franco Harris: The Fullback was the engine of the Steelers juggernaut and he too is a four time Super Bowl Champion. He was also a nine time Pro Bowl Selection and the MVP of Super Bowl IX.

Mike Webster: The Center for the 70’s juggernaut, he also won four Super Bowls. He would be named to nine Pro Bowls and seven First Team All-Pro squads.

Lynn Swann: The very popular Wide Receiver was also a four time Super Bowl winner. Twice he would be a Pro Bowler and he was the MVP of Super Bowl X.

L.C. Greenwood: Greenwood also won four Super Bowls and the Defensive End went to six Pro Bowls.

Mel Blount: The Cornerback also won four Super Bowls and was himself a five time Pro Bowl and four time First Team All Pro. He led the NFL in Interceptions in 1975 and was named the NFL Defensive Player of the Year.

Jack Ham: Playing Outside Linebacker, Ham also won four Super Bowls and was a eight time Pro Bowl and six time First Team All Pro Selection.

Jack Lambert: Yet another four time Super Bowl winner Jack Lambert went to nine Pro Bowls and seven First Team All Pros. The Middle Linebacker was a two time Defensive Player of the Year in both 1976 and 1983.

Andy Russell: A two time Super Bowl winner with eight Pro Bowl Selections. Russell played Linebacker.

Rod Woodson: The Cornerback played ten years of his career with Pittsburgh and was a seven time and five time First Team All Pro Selection with Pittsburgh. As a Steeler he won a Super Bowl and was named the Defensive Player of the Year in 1993.

Kevin Greene: Only a Steeler for three seasons, Greene won the Super Bowl with the team and was named to a First Team All Pro squad.

Jerome Bettis: “The Bus” won a Super Bowl with Pittsburgh as well as earning four Pro Bowls.

Donnie Shell: Another four time Super Bowl Champion, the Safety was a five time Pro Bowl and three time First Team All-Pro Selection.

John Stallworth: Stallworth also won four Super Bowls and he was named to three Pro Bowls. The Wide Receiver also made a First Team All Pro squad once.

Bobby Layne: The Hall of Fame Quarterback played his final five seasons with Pittsburgh and he was a two time Pro Bowl Selection as a Steeler.

Ernie Stautner: A star Defensive Tackle of the 1950’s, Statutner would be a nine time Pro Bowl.

John Henry Johnson: A Fullback who went to three Pro Bowls as a Steeler in early 1960’s.

Bill Dudley: “Bullet Bill” was an imposing halfback who was with Pittsburgh for three seasons; one before World War II, and two after his service. He would be named the MVP in 1946.

Walt Kiesling: Kiesling only played one season with Pittsburgh but served as their coach for two stints.

John “Blood” McNally: McNally played three seasons for Pittsburgh as well as coached them for three.

Dermontti Dawson: The Center was a seven time Pro Bowl and six time First Team All Pro Selection.

The Hall of Honor will be located at the river end of the FedEx Great Hall at Heinz Field with the eventual plan to grow it to a museum.

To qualify for the Pittsburgh Steelers Hall of Honor a player must have been with the team for at least three years and be retired for at least three years.

We here at are beyond delighted that the Steelers have finally begun to honor their past legends with an institution like this.

Our All-Time Top 50 Pittsburgh Steelers are now up

Yes, we know that this is taking a while!

As many of you know, we here at are slowly generating the 50 of each major North American sports team.  We have a new one to unveil today, that of the Pittsburgh Steelers. 

There are many that feel that the Pittsburgh Steelers really did not begin until the 1970s, but of course, that isn't true.

The origin of the Steelers dates all the way back in 1933, and they are the seventh oldest NFL franchise in existence.  They made the playoffs in 1947, but that was the only time they made it to a post-season from 1933 to 1971.  The Steelers would then become the power of the AFC, winning four Super Bowls in the 1970s, primarily on the strength of their potent "Steel Curtain" defense.

Their 70s success made them one of the most popular teams in the game, a status that they maintain today.  Pittsburgh never had another dynasty, but they did have success winning two more Super Bowls this millennium, giving them six, which is tied with the New England Patriots for the most.

1.  Advanced Statistics.

2. Traditional statistics and how they finished in the NFL.

3. Playoff accomplishments.

4. Their overall impact on the team and other intangibles not reflected in a stat sheet.

Remember, this is ONLY based on what a player does on that particular team and not what he accomplished elsewhere and also note that we have placed an increased importance on the first two categories.

This list is updated up until the end of the 2019 Season.

The complete list can be found here, but as always, we announce our top five in this article.  They are:

1. Joe Greene

2. Jack Lambert

3. Mike Webster

4. Franco Harris

5. Jack Ham

We will continue our adjustments on our existing lists and will continue developing our new lists.  

Look for our more material coming soon!

As always, we thank you for your support.

Awards = HOF? Part Fourteen: The Defensive Rookie of the Year

We here at thought it would be fun to take a look at the major awards in North American team sports and see how it translates into Hall of Fame potential.

Needless to say, different awards in different sports yield hall of fame potential.  In basketball, the team sport with the least amount of players on a roster, the dividend for greatness much higher.  In baseball, it is not as much as a great individual season does not have the same impact.

2. Jack Lambert

The Steelers had already put together a powerful defensive corps before they used their Second Round Pick in 1974 to take Jack Lambert, the MAC Defensive Player of the Year two years before.

Subscribe to this RSS feed