A+ A A-

1. Mike Modano

This was very easy.

Not only is Mike Modano the greatest Dallas Star of all-time, he is one of the best American born players ever. 

2013-15 Hockey HOF Inductees are up

Over the last few months, we here at have been so focused on other endeavors at the site, that we neglected to tell you about the continuing opportunity fro you to cast your opinion on existing Hockey Hall of Famers.

With that in mind, we here at have expended greatly to allow you to vote on Hockey Hall of Fame inductees from 2013-2015.

The Players/Builders from that existing time frame include:

The 2013 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Brendan Shanahan, a two time First Team All Star and three time Stanley Cup Champion with the Detroit Red Wings.

Chris Chelios, a three time Norris Trophy Winner and three time Stanley Cup Champion.

Fred Shero, the two time Stanley Cup winning coach for the Philadelphia Flyers.

Geraldine Heaney, considered to be best female defenceman of all-time.

Scott Niedermayer, a former Conn Smythe and Norris Trophy Winner and a four time Stanley Cup Champion.

The 2014 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Bill McCreary, a longtime and respected referee.

Dominik Hasek, a champion Goalie in the Olympics and pros who won the Hart Trophy twice and the Vezina Trophy six times.

Mike Modano, an American superstar who took the Dallas Stars to the Stanley Cup Championship.

Pat Burns, a three time Coach of the Year and Stanley Cup Champion with the New Jersey Devils.

Peter Forsberg, a former Hart Trophy winner and Stanley Cup Champion with the Colorado Avalanche.

Rob Blake, a former Norris Trophy winner and Stanley Cup Champion with the Colorado Avalanche.

The 2015 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Angelina Ruggiero, an American female hockey player who is a four time Olympian.

Bill Hay, a former chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Chris Pronger, a former Hart and Norris Trophy Winner.

Niklas Lidstrom, a seven time Norris Trophy winner and four time Stanley Cup Champion with the Detroit Red Wings. 

Peter Karmanos Jr., who was the man who brought the NHL to the Carolinas.

Phil Housley, a high scoring Defenceman who was a seven time All Star.

Sergei Federov, a former Hart Trophy winner and three time Stanley Cup Champion with the Detroit Red Wings.

I think you know what we are looking for you to do!

When your time permits, take a look at this group and let us know if their Hall of Fame inductions are justified!

Our All-Time Top 50 Dallas Stars are now up

We know…this process of developing the Top 50 All-time of every major franchise is taking us some time, but we aren’t on a time limit are we?

We here now completed the top 50 for the Dallas Stars.

As for all of our top 50 players in hockey we look at the following:

  1. 1. Advanced Statistics, such as Cori and Point Shares.
  1. 2. Traditional statistics and how they finished in the National Hockey League
  1. 3. Playoff accomplishment.
  1. 4. Their overall impact on the team and other intangibles not reflected in a stat sheet.

Remember, this is ONLY based on what a player does on that particular team and not what he accomplished elsewhere and also note that we have placed an increased importance on the first two categories.

This list is updated up until the end of the 2017-18 Season.

The complete list can be found here, but as always we announce our top five in our news. They are:

1. Mike Modano

2. Sergei Zubov

3. Marty Turco

4. Derian Hatcher

5. Jamie Benn

So which team is up next?

We go back to the diamond and look at the top 50 Kansas City Royals of all time.

Look for that in a couple of months.

As always, we here at thank you for your support.

The IIHF Hall of Fame announces their new class

The Hall of Fame season continues with today’s announcement by the International Hockey Hall of Fame of its new eight member class.

The new members are:

Boris Alexandrov, The Soviet Union & Kazakhstan:  Alexandrov was a Gold Medalist for the U.S.S.R. in 1974 in the World Juniors and again in the 1976 Olympics.  He would come out of retirement and represent Kazakhstan in the 1995 World Championship Division II.  

Jim Johannson, U.S.A.:  Johannson won the Lester Patrick Award for his contributions to hockey in the U.S. in 2018 and he began his tenure with U.S. Hockey in 2000.  Sadly he passed away last year.

Jorgen Jonsson, Sweden:  Jonsson played the majority of his professional career in his native Sweden and he has a plethora of medals for his international accomplishments.  With Sweden, Jonsson won two Gold Medals in the Olympics (1994 & 2006) and two World Hockey Championship Gold Medals (1998 & 2006).  He also won three Silvers and (1997, 2003 & 2004) and four Bronze Medals at the Worlds (1994, 1999, 2001 & 2002).

Konstantin Mikhaylov, Bulgaria:  Mikhaylov played in net for the Bulgarian National Team in 28 World Hockey Championships.

Mike Modano, U.S.A.:  Modano entered the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2014 and would score 1,374 Points over his NHL career.  Representing the United States, Modano was a three time Olympian (winning a Silver Medal in 2002) and a two time World Cup participant where he would take the Americans to a win in the 1996 Tournament.  He is also a Silver Medalist at the 1991 Canada Cup and he would be in the World Hockey Championship three times.  He had 41 Points over 57 Games played for Team U.S.A. on the Senior Level.

Zigmund Palffy, Czechoslovakia & Slovakia:  Palffy won a Bronze Medal at the World Junior Championships in 1991 for Czechoslovakia and would also represent them in that year’s Canada Cup.  Later representing Slovakia he would represent the new country in three Olympics (1994, 2002 & 2010), the 1996 World Cup of Hockey and was a 2002 World Hockey Champion for his country.

Miroslav Satan, Slovakia:  As a Senior, Satan suited up for the Slovakian National Team 110 times recording 86 Points.  Satan represented Slovakia in four Olympic Games, the World Cup of Hockey twice but his best work was in the World Hockey Championship where he began in Pool C in 1994 and took them as their Team Captain in 2000 to a Silver Medal.  Satan would later win a Gold (2002), Bronze (2003) and another Silver in 2012.  

Hayley Wickenheiser, Canada:  Considered by many to the greatest female hockey player of all time, Hayley Wickenheiser is a four time Gold Medalist for Canada in the Olympics and her 51 Points remains an Olympic record.  She is also a seven time World Champion.

The induction ceremony will be held in Bratislava, Slovakia on May 26.

We here at would like to congratulate the latest class of the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame.

Mike Modano

The first player selected in the 1988 NHL Draft, Mike Modano would go on to have a very fruitful career as the highest scoring player all time by an American born player. Modano would take the Dallas Stars to their first ever Stanley Cup Championship in 1999 and would also be named to a Second Team All Star squad.
Subscribe to this RSS feed