A+ A A-

3. George McGinnis

After playing one year at the University of Indiana, George McGinnis would sign with the ABA's Indiana Pacers, who would sign underclassmen, whereas the NBA did not at the time.  The "Baby Bull" had a good rookie season where the Power Forward was a starter on the Pacers' 1972 Championship Team, but it was, but in 1972-73 he would go to his first of three straight ABA All-Star Games while averaging 27.6 Points per Game and was the Playoff MVP on Indiana’s 1973 repeat win.

Tracy McGrady headlines the 2017 Basketball HOF Class

Not only is this the Final Four Weekend, it is another milestone day for us at as the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame has announced their Class of 2017.

For us, the headliner is Tracy McGrady, the seven time All Star who had had prolific runs with the Orlando Magic and the Houston Rockets.  McGrady was a two time scoring champion and would score more than 20 Points per Game eight years in a row.  Notably, T-Mac would be named an All NBA player seven times.  This was his first year of eligibility.

Collegiately speaking, the big name is Bill Self, the Head Coach of Kansas, who has an overall record of 623 and 192.  He would take the Jayhawks to the National Championship in 2012.

Rebecca Lobo headlines the women’s side of the ledger.  Lobo was a star of the University of Connecticut team that won the NCAA Title in 1995 and went 35 and 0.  She would go on to the WNBA and was an All Star in 1999.

Lobo is joined by Muffet McGraw, the Head Coach for the Notre Dame Fighting Irish’ women’s team since 1987.  She would take her team to the NCAA Title in 2001.

The recently deceased Jerry Krause was also chosen.  Krause was the owner of the Chicago Bulls team that ran roughshod through the NBA in the 1990’s winning six titles.

Representing the ABA is two time ABA Champion, George McGinnis.  The former Indiana Hoosier was the ABA MVP in 1975 and after the merge with the NBA would make three All Star Games there.

The class is rounded out by High School Coach Bob Hughes, former NCAA Vice President Tom Jernstedt, European player, Nikos Galis and Zach Clayton and Mannie Jackson of the Harlem Globetrotters.

We here at would like to congratulate this latest class and we will again begin work on our Basketball list.

Subscribe to this RSS feed