A+ A A-

Kenny Easley 2017 HOF Debate

Here we are in the National Football League playoffs but for us that it means it is time to discuss the potential class of the 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame.  The Finalists have been announced, and along with regular contributor, Spheniscus, we will go back and forth with each candidate and openly debate as to which player would be a worthy Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee.

Committee Chairman: Spheniscus, Kenny Easley is the Senior Candidate and I hate it.

Kenny Easley Named the Senior Finalist for the PFHOF

The Pro Football Hall of Fame doesn’t waste a lot of time as following their recent induction ceremony last week, the first Finalist for the 2017 Class has already been named.  That man is Senior Candidate, Safety, Kenny Easley.

Easley was the fourth overall pick by the Seattle Seahawks in the 1981 draft class and was an immediate hit capturing the Defensive Rookie of the Year Award.  He would follow that with five Pro Bowl Selections over the next six seasons, which also featured three First Team All Pro nods.  His best season was 1984, where he led the NFL in Interceptions and won the Defensive Player of the Year Award.

After the ’87 season, Easley was traded to the Phoenix Cardinals but the trade was negated after a physical found him to have severe kidney problems which would force him to retire.  Easley left Seattle on bad terms following his outspokenness during the ’87 NFL Strike and his belief that the Seahawks medical teams kept his kidney problems to themselves.  To this day he has refused entry to the Seahawks Ring of Honor.

While this is not exactly a controversial choice, Easley’s career was a relatively brief one (7 Seasons) and a former player who did not crack our Football 100 list and we are sure that we speak for many in that we hoped that this spot would have been allocated to former Green Bay Packer Offensive Lineman, Jerry Kramer

As the lone Senior Finalist this year, Easley automatically is a Finalist for the Hall and will be joined by two more Contributors and fifteen players.

We here at would like to congratulate Kenny Easley for making it to the Finals and are very intrigued to see if he will be chosen.

The Pro Football HOF Announces their 2017 Class

Normally, the Pro Football Hall of Fame is relatively easy to forecast as they don’t normally have surprises, but with this year’s class, we are a little befuddles with some of this year’s selections, or rather this year’s snubs.

Let’s start with who got in.

All of the PFHOF Inductors have been announced

With some additional announcements, all of the Pro Football Hall of Fame inductors for 2017 have been named. 

Sebastian Andersen will induct his father, former Place Kicker Morten Andersen.

Sports Agent Neil Schwartz will induct his client and friend, Terrell Davis.

Tommy Rhodes will induct Kenny Easley, who he coached in high school.

Gene Jones will induct her husband, Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones.

Former Miami Dolphins Head Coach Jimmy Johnson will induct his former player Jason Taylor.

Lorenzo Neal will induct his former San Diego Charger teammate LaDainian Tomlinson.

Brenda Warner will induct her husband, Kurt Warner.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame festivities will take place the first weekend of August.

Once again we here at would like to congratulate the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017.
Subscribe to this RSS feed