A+ A A-

39. Anquan Boldin

For a brief period of time, Anquan Boldin was one of the elite Wide Receivers of the National Football League and when he was a Raven would help the franchise win Super Bowl XLVII.  As a Raven, Boldin won a Super Bowl Ring and netted over 2,500 Yards.

Anquan Boldin

Retiring from the National Football League early so that he could devote more time to his humanitarian efforts, Anquan Boldin would secure seven seasons where he had four digits in Receiving Yards.  Boldin was an explosive force on the gridiron, making an immediate impact in his rookie year finishing third in both Receptions and Receiving Yards. 

Anquan Boldin Retires

Well, we have another sudden retirement worth talking discussing.

13 days after he signed a one year contract with the Buffalo Bills, Wide Receiver Anquan Boldin has announced his retirement from professional football so that he focus on his humanitarian efforts. He had this to say in a statement to ESPN:

"Football has afforded me a platform throughout my career to have a greater impact on my humanitarian work, and at this time, I feel drawn to make the larger fight for human rights a priority. My life's purpose is bigger than football."

How can you not respect that? Especially considering how much social work he has done in the past!

Boldin was drafted in the second round by the Arizona Cardinals out of Florida State in 2003 and made an immediate statement in the NFL by going to the Pro Bowl and being named the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year. Boldin would play for Arizona for seven seasons where in that time he would make three Pro Bowls and have five seasons where had a four digits in Receiving Yards. He would be traded to the Baltimore Ravens where in his third and final year with the team he would help them win the Super Bowl. Boldin would have six receptions for 104 Yards and a TD in the big game. He would finish out his career with the San Francisco 49ers for two seasons and one final one with the Detroit Lions

Boldin retires with 1,076 Receptions (9th overall), 13,779 Receiving Yards (14th overall) and 82 Receiving Touchdowns (23rd overall). These are numbers that should warrant a look from the Pro Football Hall of Fame, though without a First or Second Team All Pro Selection, it might be a little difficult for him to make enshrinement. He will be eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2022.

We here at wish Anquan Boldin the best in his philanthropic efforts as an agent of change. Football’s loss is society’s gain.

Our 2022 Football Futures are now up

As always, with us at we are always adding sections. Today we are adding the 2022 Football Futures section.

The entries that are eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2022 are:

A.J. Hawk: A Linebacker who spent most of his career with the Green Bay Packers and helped them win Super Bowl XLV.

Andre Johnson: A Wide Receiver who was a seven time Pro Bowler and two time First Team All Pro. Johnson, who was with the Houston Texans for the best part of his career was a two time Receiving Leader. He is also a three time NFL Alumni Wide Receiver of the Year. Johnson finished his career with 14,185 Receiving Yards and 70 Touchdown Receptions.

Anquan Boldin: A three time Pro Bowl Wide Receiver with the Arizona Cardinals, Boldin would win a Super Bowl with the Baltimore Ravens later in his career. He retired with 13,779 Receiving Yards and 82 Touchdowns.

Arian Foster: Foster went to four Pro Bowls in a career spent predominantly with Houston. Foster led the NFL in Rushing Yards in 2010 and would twice lead the league in Rushing Touchdowns.

Branden Albert. Albert was a two time Pro Bowl Offensive Tackle.

Brandon Flowers. A Pro Bowl Selection at Cornerback in 2013, Flowers played for both Kansas City and the San Diego Chargers.

Chad Greenway. Greenway was a two time Pro Bowl Linebacker who spent his entire run with the Minnesota Vikings. He recorded over 1,000 Tackles over his career.

Chris Chester. Chester played eleven seasons in the NFL mostly at Right Guard.

DeMarcus Ware. Ware was a nine time Pro Bowl and four time First Team All Pro Selection and is one of best defensive players in Dallas Cowboy history. As a Cowboy, he would lead the National Football League twice in Quarterback Sacks and tallied 138.5 over his run. He would win a Super Bowl with the Denver Broncos late in his career.

Devin Hester. Hester is considered to be one of the best returners of all-time and he is also a four time Pro Bowler. He holds the record for the most Special Teams Touchdowns in NFL history.

Evan Mathis. A two time Pro Bowl Selection, Evan Mathis was an Offensive Guard who won a Super Bowl Ring with the Denver Broncos.

Jake Long. The first overall draft pick of 2008, Long went to four straight Pro Bowls (2008-11) at Offensive Tackle.

James Laurinaitis. Laurinaitis played most of his career with the St. Louis Rams as their starting Middle Linebacker.

Jordan Cameron. A Pro Bowl in 2013, Cameron played Tight End in a career spent with Cleveland and Miami.

Justin Forcett. A Wide Receiver who played for eight different teams in seven seasons.

Pat McAfee. A charismatic Punter (Yes, that does exist), Pat McAfee was a two time Pro Bowl Selection.

Percy Harvin. Harvin was Pro Bowl Selection in his rookie season and the Wide Receiver would go on to win a Super Bowl with the Seattle Seahawks.

Robert Mathis. Mathis is a member of the 100 Quarterback Sack Club who played his entire career with the Indianapolis Colts. The Linebacker went to six Pro Bowls and helped the Colts win a Super Bowl.

Steve Smith. Smith retired ranked seventh overall in Receiving Yards and Yards from Scrimmage. The Wide Receiver went to five Pro Bowls and in 2005 he would lead the NFL in Receptions, Receiving Yards and Receiving Touchdowns.

Tony Romo. Romo played his entire career with the Dallas Cowboys where the Quarterback was a four time Pro Bowler. He would lead the NFL in Quarterback Rating in 2014 and is third all-time in QB Rating.

Vince Wilfork. Wilfork was a five time Pro Bowl Nose Tackle who played most of his career with the New England Patriots. Wilfork won a Super Bowl with the Pats.

The entire list can be found here.

As always we thank you for your support and we look forward to putting together more sections up at
Subscribe to this RSS feed