A+ A A-
Committee Chairman

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] .

Derrick Johnson Retired

The retirements just keep on coming in the National Football League!

Linebacker, Derrick Johnson just signed a one-day contract with the Kansas City Chiefs so that he could retire at Arrowhead.  He had played with the Oakland Raiders last year after playing with Chiefs from 2005 to 2017.  

Johnson was drafted 15thoverall from the University of Texas where he was slotted immediately as the team’s Left Outside Linebacker.  He would switch to Right Inside Linebacker in 2010 and would go on a four-year streak of 100 or more tackles.  He would be named to the Pro Bowl in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2015 and was a First Team All-Pro in 2011.  His career at Kansas City would see him record 27.5 Sacks, 14 Interceptions and 1,151 Tackles.

Coincidentally, we have almost completed our All-Time Top 50 Kansas City Chiefs and Johnson is currently penciled in at #13.

We here at would like to wish Derrick Johnson the best in his post-playing career.

The Video Game Hall of Fame Announces the Class of 2019

The World Video Game Hall of Fame has announced the Class of 2019, which consists of four diverse games.

They are:

Super Mario Kart (1992)

Mortal Kombat (1992)

Colossal Cave Adventure (1976)

Microsoft Solitaire (1990)

The other nominees were Candy Crush Saga, Centipede, Dance Dance Revolution, Half-Life, Myst, NBA 2K, Sid Meier’s Civilization and Super Smash Bros. Melee.

The World Video Game Hall of Fame was established in 2015 at the Strong Museum in Rochester, New York, which also houses the Toy Hall of Fame.

C.C. Sabathia reaches 3,000 Strikeouts

Milestones mean more in baseball than it does in any other sport and when you achieve a major one it automatically generates a Hall of Fame discussion.  The conversation today is that last night C.C. Sabathia reached 3,000 Strikeouts over his career making him the 17thplayer in Major League history to achieve that plateau.  The 3,000thwhiff came against Arizona’s John Ryan Murphy and he followed up with two more ending at 3,002 for the night.   

Sabathia had announced earlier that this would be his final season in baseball and he has a chance to increase his rank as he is behind John Smoltz (82), Curt Schilling (114) and Bob Gibson (115), all of which are reachable should he be able to maintain a number comparable to his last year’s number.  

With the exception of Roger Clemens and Curt Schilling, everyone who has 3,000 Strikeouts is in the Baseball Hall of Fame.  He is also three wins away from the 250 milestone, which is a number that many feel is akin to 300 Wins in the past based on how pitch counts work driving starters out of the game much earlier.  Sabrmetrically he is well behind as his 63.2 career bWAR is well below the 73.2 average that Starting Pitchers have who are in Cooperstown.  

We here at would like to congratulate C.C. Sabathia for achieving this very impressive landmark and we will be watching when he goes for win number 250.