A+ A A-
Committee Chairman

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] .

The Rock Hall announces five new Board of Directors

It flew under the radar of most music publications, but the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame made a huge announcement as they added five new members to their Board of Directors.

They are:

Michele Anthony (Executive Vice President Universal Music Group)

Jody Gerson (Chairman & CEO Universal Music Publishing)

Pam Kaufman (President Viacom/CBS Consumer Products)

Jon Platt (Chairman & SONY/ATV Music Publishing)

Pharell Williams (Artist/Producer/Entrepreneur)

The RRHOF Board Chairman, John Sykes, brought this group in, and it is a strong step towards his mandate to have more diverse representation as it includes three women and one African-American.  

What this means going forward is still up for discussion.

As always, we will be watching!

Our All-Time Top 50 Edmonton Oilers are now up

Yes, we know that this is taking a while!

As many of you know, we here at are slowly generating the 50 of each major North American sports team.  We have a new one to unveil today, that of the Edmonton Oilers. 

Debuting as the Alberta Oilers in 1972 in the World Hockey Association, they would exchange the Alberta for Edmonton after one year.  The Oilers were an original WHA team, who would be one of four franchises that would be absorbed into the NHL in 1979.  When they joined the NHL, they had a young Wayne Gretzky in tow, and after drafting players like Paul Coffey, Jari Kurri, Mark Messier and Grant Fuhr, a dynasty occurred that would win four Stanley Cups in the 1980s and one in 1990.  Since that time, they made the Finals once in 2006.  

As for all of our top 50 players in hockey we look at the following: 

1.  Advanced Statistics.

2. Traditional statistics and how they finished in the NHL.

3. Playoff accomplishments.

4. Their overall impact on the team and other intangibles not reflected in a stat sheet.

Remember, this is ONLY based on what a player does on that particular team and not what he accomplished elsewhere and also note that we have placed an increased importance on the first two categories.

This list is updated up until the end of the 2018-19 Season.

The complete list can be found here, but as always we announce our top five in this article.  They are:

1. Wayne Gretzky

2. Mark Messier

3. Jari Kurri

4. PaulCoffey

5. GrantFuhr

We will continue our adjustments on our existing lists and will continue developing our new lists.  

Look for or All-Time Top 50 Colorado Avalanche coming next!

As always we thank you for your support.

Chris Bosh disappointed he is a not a Finalist

When the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced their Finalists, Chris Bosh was left off of it.  This is his first year of eligibility after being forced to retire due to issues with blood clots in 2014.  He had this to say on his Instagram:

"I'm going to be honest with you. I'm a competitor, man. I've been competing my whole life. A lot of people don't really know that about me, but I'm a fierce competitor. Losing bothers me. Coming up short bothers me. It always has, you know, since the moment I started playing basketball and it kind of bleeds over into everything that I do. So I'll just get ahead of it, and so you hear this from me: I'm disappointed."

Only five men (down from ten) were named as Finalists this year, with three of those being former players (Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan and Kevin Garnett).   The conspiracy theory in us feels like Bosh (and other previous finalists like Chris Webber and Ben Wallace) were put on the shelf for now to clear the path for Bryant, Duncan and Garnett.  With all due respect to Bosh, he is the clear number four behind those three.  The delay of Bosh also gives the Hall a headliner for the 2021 Class, and let’s be honest, they need to sell tickets to.

As always, we will be watching.

The British Bulldog to the WWE Hall of Fame

Normally we wait until it is confirmed by the WWE, but when it is reported by Dave Meltzer of, we tend it believe that this is will come to fruition.  On his recent Wrestling Observer Radio show, Meltzer said that the late Davey Boy Smith will be inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame for the Class of 2021. 

From England, Smith would cut his teeth in Stu Hart’s Stampede Wrestling and Japan in the late 70s and early 80s.  Smith and his regular tag team partner, The Dynamite Kid, were brought into the WWF in early 1984, and the British Bulldogs would take their innovate style made everyone take notice.  At Wrestlemania 2, the Bulldogs would win the WWF Tag Team Championship over the Dream Team (Greg Valentine & Brutus Beefcake).  The reign was cut short, as Dynamite suffered a severe back injury in December of 1996 in Hamilton, Ontario.  The Bulldogs would promptly lose the tag titles to the Hart Foundation (Bret Hart & Jim Neidhart) the following month.  Dynamite would recover (though was never the same) and they Bulldogs would continue to work for the WWF until November of 1988 after asking for their release.

The Bulldogs would again work in Calgary and Japan, but after two years, the relationship between Smith and Dynamite deteriorated, and without telling him, Smith returned to the WWF alone as the British Bulldog.  Smith would become an upper-card babyface, and his popularity in Britain and Europe skyrocketed.

At SummerSlam 1992 in Wembley Stadium in London, Smith pinned Bret Hart in the main event to win the Intercontinental Championship.  He held that strap for three months until he was pinned by Shawn Michaels.  Behind the scenes, along with the Ultimate Warrior, he was fired for obtaining HGH.

Smith went to WCW which was brief, but he was involved in the high end of the card.  He came back to the WWF at Summer Slam 1994, assisting Bret against his brother Owen, and he would later team with Lex Luger as the Allied Powers. Luger left for WCW, and Smith turned heel and would challenge Diesel and later Bret Hart for the WWF World Heavyweight Title.  Smith would become part of Jim Cornette’s stable, and later the new Hart Foundation. When Bret left the WWF after the infamous Montreal Screwjob, Smith and Niedhart followed, bit it was a mess for the latter two.

Smith barely reached the lower mid-card in WCW, and his back was destroyed when he landed on a trap door (used for the Ultimate Warrior), and he was never the same again.  He was released shortly after.

After WCW, he went back to the WWF in September of 1999, but this run was not particularly good.  Smith was not in the best shape, and he with the exception of a six-pack challenge match for the WWF World Heavyweight Title Match at the Unforgiven PPV, he was used in a lower-card heel role.  He left the WWF in May of 2000.

Smith passed away at the age of 39, after suffering from a heart attack.  He was planning for a comeback in wrestling, and had appeared in independent shows tagging with his son, Harry.

In our latest WWE ranking, Smith was ranked at #10. After Wrestlemania, we will begin work to revise our WWE Ranking.

We here at would like to congratulate the family of Davey Boy Smith at this time.



Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/notinhal/public_html/templates/gk_rockwall/html/com_k2/templates/default/user.php on line 127