A+ A A-

The Songwriters HOF name the 2023 Class

The Hall of Fame season continues in full gear as the Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced their seven member Class of 2023.

Here are the inductees:

Glen Ballard:  Ballard is best known for his collaboration with Alanis Morissette, and he co-wrote all the hits from her monster 1994 album, “Jagged Little Pill”.  He also wrote Michael Jackson’s hit, “Man in the Mirror”, “The Space Between” (Dave Matthews) and “Hold On” (Wilson Phillips).

Gloria Estefan:  Estefan penned many of her hits, including “Don’t Wanna Lose You”, “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You” and “Let’s Get Loud”.

Jeff Lynne:  Lynne was the mastermind behind E.L.O., the band that generated hit songs like 

Teddy Riley:  Riley wrote many New Jack Swing standards, such as “My Prerogative” (Bobby Brown) and “Make It Last Forever” (Keith Sweat),

Liz Rose:  Rose is best known for collaborating with Taylor Swift early in her career.

Sade:  Sade wrote her biggest hits, including “Smooth Operator”, “No Ordinary Love” and “The Sweetest Taboo”.

Snoop Dogg:  Snoop is one of the most successful and well-known hip-hop artists of all-time, with his hits, “Drop It Like It’s Hot”, “Nuthin’ But A Thang”, “Gin & Juice” and “Next Episode”. 

Additional special awards honorees will be announced at a later date.

Those who were nominated but were not chosen were:

Bryan Adams

Lynn Ahrens/Stephen Flaherty

Blondie (Clem Burke, Debbie Harry & Chris Stein)

Dean Dillon

The Doobie Brothers (Tom Johnston, Michael McDonald & Patrick Simmons)

Vince Gill

Franne Golde

Bobby Hart/Tommy Boyce

Heart (Ann Wilson & Nancy Wilson)

Sandy Linzer/Denny Randell

Roger Nichols

Dan Penn/Spooner Oldham

Dean Pitchford

Patti Smith

Tom Snow

Steve Winwood

We here at would like to congratulate the impending members of the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Subscribe to this RSS feed