A+ A A-

The Songwriters Hall of Fame announces their Finalists

While we do not rank those who are not in the Songwriters Hall of Fame, we have always felt that it is an institution worth covering. As such it is significant news to us that Finalists have been announced.

Let’s get right to the nominees shall we?

Mariah Carey: Carey co-wrote 17 of her 18 number one hits. Nobody has more charttoppers than Carey.

Tracy Chapman: Chapman is a very acclaimed singer/songwriter mostly known for hit, “Fast Car”.

Jimmy Cliff: An induction for Cliff would help represent the sparse reggae genre.

Alice Cooper: Cooper was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame a few years ago.

Tom T. Hall: Hall wrote 11 number one Country songs, though he did not perform all of them.

Chrissie Hynde: The lead singer of the Pretenders is also in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The Isley Brothers: The Isley Brothers were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1992.

Alan Jackson: Jackson entered the Country Music Hall of Fame last year and has sold 80 million albums world wide. He had 35 number one hits on the Country Charts.

Kool & The Gang: The group had two number one hits in R&B and eleven top ten hits on that chart.

John Mellencamp: Mellencamp is also in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

N.W.A.: Following Jay-Z’s induction as the first rapper to the Hall, N.W.A. could be the second. They have already been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Tom Waits: Waits entered the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2011.

The non-performing nominees are:

Bill Anderson: Anderson wrote thirty-six songs that went to the top ten on the Country Charts including seven number ones.

  1. Russell Brown and Irwin Levine: The songwrtiers wrote many hits for Tony Orlando & Dawn and the Four Seasons.
Mike Chapman: Chapman wrote hit songs for The Sweet, Suzi Quatro and Tina Turner.

Steve Dorff: A Country music songwriter.

Jermaine Dupri: Dupri co-wrote may hits for Mariah Carey and Usher.

Kye Fleming and Dennis Morgan: The duo would be successful in the Country Music genre throughout the 1970’s and 80’s.

Randy Goodrum: Goodrum was a successful songwriter in both the Pop and Country genre.

Tony Macaulay: Macaulay songwriting took place predominantly in the 1970’s in England.

Denny Randell and Sandy Linzer: The pair have been very successful in songwriting in pop and R&B.

Maurice Starr: Starr is best known for producing and writing songs for New Edition and New Kids on the Block.


William “Mickey” Stevenson: Stevenson worked for Motown in the early days and wrote or co-wrote many songs such as “Dancing in the Street” (Martha & The Vandellas), “Devil With the Blue Dress” and Uptight (Stevie Wonder).

Allee Willis: Willis wrote many pop songs including “Neutron Dance” (The Pointer Hits), “September” and “Boogie Wonderland” (Earth, Wind & Fire) and “I’ll Be There for You” (The Rembrandts).

To be eligible for the Songwriters Hall of Fame you must have written hit songs at least twenty years ago.

Six songwriters or groups will be chosen.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame announce their Class 2019

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced their Class of 2019 today and let’s get right into the new members:

Dallas Austin.  Austin has written many major hits for acts like Boyz II Men (Motownphilly), TLC (Ain’t 2 Proud 2 Beg) and Madonna (Secret).  

Missy Elliott.  Elliott makes history as the first female rapper to enter the Songwriters Hall of Fame. She has five top ten hits.

Tom T. Hall.  Hall wrote twelve country music number ones and one crossover number one with “Harper Valley P.T.A.”

John Prine.  Prine was a surprise nominee for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this past year and has been active as a performer since the early 1970’s.  Prine’s hybrid of folk and country has been widely acclaimed and he is considered among the best songwriters amongst his peers.

Cat Stevens.  Now known as Yusuf Islam, Stevens was a very successful singer/songwriter in the 1970’s. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2014.

Jack Tempchin.  Tempchin wrote songs for the Eagles and later Glenn Frey during his solo career.

This group of inductees will be officially inducted on June 13 at the Marquis Hotel in New York City.

We here at would like to congratulate the new members of the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame Ceremony postponed to 2021

Didn’t we just write this?

We did, but The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced that they will be postponing their induction for the Class of 2020 until 2021, specifically on June 10, 2021 in New York City. The announcement came today from SHOF Chairman, Nile Rodgers.

The Class of 2020 comprises Mariah Carey, Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart (The Eurythmics), The Isley Brothers, Steve Miller, Pharrell Williams and Chad Hugo (The Neptunes), Rick Nowels, William Stevenson, Paul Williams and Jody Gerson.

It is not known at this time whether there will be an additional class in 2021, or whether that will be cancelled in its own right to focus on this group.

Subscribe to this RSS feed