A+ A A-

1. Joe Sakic

There have been a plethora of phenomenal players who have suited up for the Quebec Nordiques/Colorado Avalanche.  Still, it was effortless to choose Joe Sakic as the greatest Avalanche player ever.

2011-12 Hockey Hall of Fame inductees are now up

Over the last few months, we here at have been so focused on other endeavors at the site, that we neglected to tell you about the continuing opportunity fro you to cast your opinion on existing Hockey Hall of Famers.

With that in mind, we here at have expended greatly to allow you to vote on Hockey Hall of Fame inductees from 2010-2012.

The Players/Builders from that existing time frame include:

The 2011 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Doug Gilmour, a two time All Star and winner of the Frank J. Selke Trophy.

Ed Belfour, a two rime Vezina Trophy Winner and five time All Star.

Joe Nieuwendyk, who won three Stanley Cups and three different teams and was a four time All Star. 

Mark Howe, a four time NHL All Star and two time WHA Champion.

The 2012 Hockey Hall of Fame Class:

Adam Oates, a five time NHL All Star and gifted playmaker.

Joe Sakic, a former Hart Trophy Winner and two time Stanley Cup Champion with the Colorado Avalanche.

Mats Sundin, a long time Toronto Maple Leaf and Swedish National Star and eight time All Star.

Pavel Bure, a Russian star and three time NHL leader in goals in the National Hockey League.

I think you know what we are looking for you to do!

When your time permits, take a look at this group and let us know if their Hall of Fame inductions are justified!

Joe Sakic Headlines the IIHF HOF Class

We don’t rank the players not in it, but we here at always have serious respect for the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame.  Today they have announced that Joe Sakic, Saku Koivu, Teemu Selanne, Uwe Krupp, Angela Ruggiero and Dieter Kalt will be the Class of 2017.

Representing Canada is Joe Sakic, who entered the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2012.  The native of Burnaby, British Columbia is a two time Stanley Cup Champion and a former Hart Trophy winner as a professional but he also has a decorated career representing his nation.   Sakic won a Gold Medal on four different stages; the World Juniors (1988), The World Championship (1994), The Olympics (2002) and the World Cup (2004).  He has 41 Points in 48 Games representing Canada.

Future Hockey Hall of Famer from Finland, Teemu Selanne has played in six Olympic Games for his country and is the all-time leading scorer with 43 Points.  He has four medals from the Olympics (1 Silver and 3 Bronze) and two World Championship Medals (1 Silver and 1 Bronze).  He has represented Finland in 96 Games and scored 102 Points.

Selanne will not be the only Finnish representative, as Saku Koivu was also chosen.  Koivu won four Olympic Medals (1 Silver and 3 Bronze) and four medals in the World Championships, including a Gold in 1995.  He has 64 Points in 89 Games representing Finland.

Uwe Krupp from Germany is his nation’s lone representative.  Krupp played for West Germany in two World Junior Championships and two World Championships.  In 1998, he played for Germany in the Olympics.

Angela Ruggiero of the United States is this year’s female representative.  Ruggiero played in four Olympics winning 1 Gold, 2 Silver and a Bronze.  The Defenseman was also a part of four World Championships.

Dieter Kalt played for Austria in 14 World Championships and three Olympic Games.  He currently serves as the President of the Austrian Ice Hockey Federation.

The induction ceremony will take place on May 21 in Cologne, Germany.

We here at would like to congratulate the latest IIHF Class.

Our All-Time Top 50 Colorado Avalanche are now up

Yes, we know that this is taking a while!

As many of you know, we here at are slowly generating the 50 of each major North American sports team.  We have a new one to unveil today, that of the Colorado Avalanche. 

Debuting as the Quebec Nordiques in 1972 in the World Hockey Association, they would become one of the most successful teams in the league.  The Nordiques won the Avco Cup in 1977, and they would be one of four franchises that would be absorbed into the NHL in 1979.  Despite having some good players in Michel Goulet and Peter Stastny, they struggled in the league.  After drafting Eric Lindros who refused to play for them, they traded his rights to the Philadelphia Flyers, and the haul they got that included Peter Forsberg would give them hope. 

Sadly, it was a small market, and they were no longer able to remain financially viable. The team would relocate to Denver in 1995, and would become the Colorado Avalanche.  In their inaugural year, they would trade for Goaltender, Patrick Roy, and with Forsberg and Joe Sakic, they would win their first Stanley Cup in their inaugural year in the Mountain Time Zone.  They would win a second Cup in 2001. 

As for all of our top 50 players in hockey we look at the following: 

1.  Advanced Statistics.

2. Traditional statistics and how they finished in the NHL.

3. Playoff accomplishments.

4. Their overall impact on the team and other intangibles not reflected in a stat sheet.

Remember, this is ONLY based on what a player does on that particular team and not what he accomplished elsewhere and also note that we have placed an increased importance on the first two categories.

This list is updated up until the end of the 2018-19 Season.

The complete list can be found here,but as always we announce our top five in this article.  They are:

1. Joe Sakic

2. Peter Forsberg

3. Michel Goulet

4. Peter Stastny

5. Patrick Roy

We will continue our adjustments on our existing lists and will continue developing our new lists.  

Look for or All-Time Top 50 Pittsburgh Penguins coming next!

As always we thank you for your support.

Joe Sakic

Unarguably the best player in the history of the history of the Colorado Avalanche franchise, Joe Sakic spent his entire career with the team (including when it was in Quebec City) and scored over 1,600 points there. His most productive season was in 2000-01 where the Avs Captain won the Hart Trophy, the Lady Byng and carried the Stanley Cup for the second time. Overall, he was a three time First Team All Star, a Ted Lindsay Award winner, an Olympic Gold Medalist and one of the most respected leaders in Hockey. There was no shock to Joe Sakic entering the Hockey Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility.
Subscribe to this RSS feed