Print this page

The Songwriters Hall of Fame announce their Class 2019

The Songwriters Hall of Fame announce their Class 2019
12 Jan
Not in Hall of Fame

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced their Class of 2019 today and let’s get right into the new members:

Dallas Austin.  Austin has written many major hits for acts like Boyz II Men (Motownphilly), TLC (Ain’t 2 Proud 2 Beg) and Madonna (Secret).  

Missy Elliott.  Elliott makes history as the first female rapper to enter the Songwriters Hall of Fame. She has five top ten hits.

Tom T. Hall.  Hall wrote twelve country music number ones and one crossover number one with “Harper Valley P.T.A.”

John Prine.  Prine was a surprise nominee for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this past year and has been active as a performer since the early 1970’s.  Prine’s hybrid of folk and country has been widely acclaimed and he is considered among the best songwriters amongst his peers.

Cat Stevens.  Now known as Yusuf Islam, Stevens was a very successful singer/songwriter in the 1970’s. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2014.

Jack Tempchin.  Tempchin wrote songs for the Eagles and later Glenn Frey during his solo career.

This group of inductees will be officially inducted on June 13 at the Marquis Hotel in New York City.

We here at would like to congratulate the new members of the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.