A+ A A-

Shane Lechler

Not too many Punters get drafted but Shane Lechler was in the 5th Round out of Texas A&M in 2000 by the Oakland Raiders who would see quickly that it was an excellent choice.  Lechler would play for the Raiders for 13 seasons and in six of those years he was named a First Team All Pro with seven seasons being deemed Pro Bowl worthy.  Oakland was often struggling during Lechler’s tenure in the Bay Area so they saw Lechler punt more than they would have wanted but they knew that he did his job exceptionally well.  Five times in Oakland he would lead the National Football League in Yards per Punt and he was second another five times.  Lechler would sign with the Houston Texans and play there for five seasons before he retired.

Shane Lechler Retires

The career of arguably the best Punter ever has officially come to an end as Shane Lechler officially retired today.

Lechler played collegiately at Texas A&M where he would become one of the few Punters to be drafted as he selected in the 5thRound in 2000 by the Oakland Raiders, a team that through having Ray Guy in the 1970’s knew the value of having an elite Punter.  As a rookie, Lechler would be named a First Team All Pro and finished second in Yards/Punt. This type of performance would be consistent of what Lechler would do as a Raider.  In his 13 seasons in Oakland he would be named a First Team All Pro six times, including a three year stretch from 2008 to 2010.  Seven times he was in the Pro Bowl, which also consisted of a streak of five straight years from 2007 to 2011.  Stat wise he was a four time leader in Punting Yards and five time league leader in Yards per Punt.  He would play his final five seasons in the NFL with the Houston Texans.

At this time, Lechler retires with the most Yards per Punt (47.6) and accrued the second most Punts all-time (1,411).

As Lechler did not play last season, he is eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2023. While Lechler is recognized as having been elite as his position, his spot on the gridiron was as a Punter, a disrespected trade in Canton.  Ray Guy was considered to be revolutionary at the position and he had to wait until he was a Senior Candidate before he got in.  

We here at would like to wish Shane Lechler the best in his post playing career. 

Our 2023 Football Futures are now up

As we approach the Pro Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Saturday, we have been working on our future eligible section.  As football players don’t always retire after they played their last game (usually to see if they can land another job while sitting out as a free agent) we aren’t able to immediately add them.  

With that being the case, we have added to our site, 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame eligible list.

The people eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame whom we are featuring are:

Alterraun Verner:  Verner would be named to the Pro Bowl at Cornerback in 2013 when he was with the Tennessee Titans.

Brian Cushing:  The Linebacker was the Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2009, but this would be the only year that the career Houston Texan would be named to the Pro Bowl.

Carson Palmer:  Palmer was a three-time Pro Bowl Quarterback who led the NFL in Touchdown Passes in 2005.

Chris Johnson:  Johnson was the Offensive Player of the Year in 2009 and the Running Back would go on to three Pro Bowls.

Cliff Avril:  Avril was a Pro Bowl Linebacker in 2016 and was a Super Bowl Champion with the Seattle Seahawks.

Danny Woodhead:  Woodhead was a popular and undrafted Running Back who would have nearly 5,000 Yards from Scrimmage.

Darrelle Revis:  Revis was the greeter of “Revis Island”, where the Cornerback would be named to seven Pro Bowls and four First Team All-Pros.  Revis would win a Super Bowl with the New England Patriots.

Darren McFadden:  McFadden played at Running Back where he would have 7,535 Yards from Scrimmage.

DeAngelo Hall:  Hall would become a three-time Pro Bowl Defensive Back.

DeMarco Murray:  Murray was explosive in 2014 where the Running Back would be named the Offensive Player of the Year.  He was also a three-time Pro Bowl Selection.

Dwight Freeney:  Freeney was a First Team All-Pro Defensive End three times and he would be named to seven Pro Bowls.  Freeney won the Super Bowl with the Indianapolis Colts and he retired with 125.5 Quarterback Sacks.

Elvis Dumervil:  At Defensive End, Dumervil was a five-time Pro Bowl and two-time First Team All-Pro who led the NFL in Sacks in 2009.  He retried with 105.5 Sacks over his career.

Eric Decker:  The Wide Receiver would have over 50 Receiving Touchdowns over his career.

Eric Weems:  Weems would record over 5,000 Return Yards and was 2010 Pro Bowl Selection.

Eric Wood:  Wood would be a Pro Bowl Selection at 2015 at the Center Position.

James Harrison:  Harrison was the Defensive Player of the Year in 2008 and was a five-time and two-time First Team All-Pro.  The Linebacker would help the Pittsburgh Steelers win two Super Bowls.

Jay Cutler:  Cutler would throw for over 35,000 Yards and was a Pro Bowl Selection in 2008.

Jeremy Maclin:  Maclin played at Wide Receiver and he had five straight years of 800 Yards.

Joe Thomas:  Thomas played his entire career at Left Tackle for the Cleveland Browns where he was an 11-time Pro Bowl and a six-time First Team All-Pro Selection.

John Kuhn:  Kuhn was a three-time Pro Bowl Fullback who would win two Super Bowls, one with Pittsburgh and one with the Green Bay Packers.

Julius Thomas:  Thomas was a two-time Pro Bowl Tight End.

Kam Chancellor:  Chancellor helped the Seattle Seahawks win the Super Bowl and the Strong Safety was a four-time Pro Bowler. 

Martellus Bennett:  Bennett was a Pro Bowl Tight End in 2014 and a Super Bowl Champion with the New England Patriots.

Matt Forte:  Forte was a two-time Pro Bowl Running Back who retired with 9,796 Rushing Yards and another 4,672 Yards from Receiving.  

NaVorro Bowman:  Bowman was a First Team All-Pro Linebacker who would lead the NFL in Tackles in 2015.

Paul Pozluszny:  Pozluszny was a Pro Bowl Linebacker in 2013.

Shane Lechler:  Lechler was the best Punter of his era, going to seven Pro Bowls and earning six First Team All-Pro Selections.

Tamba Hali:  Hali would have 89.5 Sacks over his career and the career Kansas City Chief would go to five Pro Bowls.

Terence Newman:  Newman was a two-time Cornerback. 

The entire group eligible for 2023 can be found here.

As always, we encourage you to vote and state your opinion.

Thank you again for your support!


Subscribe to this RSS feed