A+ A A-

The New England Patriots HOF announces their three Finalists

The New England Patriots Hall of Fame has announced their three Finalists for their institution.

Richard Seymour:  Seymour played with the Patriots from 2001 to 2008 and he helped New England reach five Super Bowls and win three of them.  From 2002 to 2006 he was chosen for the Pro Bowl and he was a First Team All-Pro three times (2003, 2004 & 2005) and he would record 39.0 Sacks for the Pats.  

Mike Vrabel:  Like Seymour, Vrabel would help New England win three Super Bowls but he arrived via free agency after four seasons where he was mostly used on Special Teams as a Pittsburgh Steeler.  With the Patriots he primarily played Linebacker where he was a Pro Bowl and First Team All-Pro in 2007.  He would have 48.0 Quarterback Sacks for New England.

Rodney Harrison:  Harrison arrived to New England from the San Diego Chargers and the Defensive Back would help the Patriots win the Super Bowl in back-to-back years in the 2003 and 2004 seasons.  Harrison was a First Team All-Pro in 2003 and he had eight Interceptions and nine Sacks as a Patriot.

This looks like it will be a tough choice, doesn’t it?

Fans can vote online through May 3 here.

Leon Gray has already been chosen by the Senior Committee of the New England Patriots Hall of Fame.

Rodney Harrison to enter the New England Patriots HOF

Regular visitors of know that we are slowly working on the top 50 of every major team in the NHL, NBA, NFL and MLB. Once that is done, we intend to look at how each team honor their past players and executive.  As such it is news to us that the New England Patriots have announced that Rodney Harrison will be the new inductee to their franchise Hall of Fame.

Harrison was a San Diego Charger for the first nine years of his career and he would sign with New England before the 2003 season.  The Defensive Back would help the Patriots win two Super Bowls (XXXVIII & XXXIX) and he was a First Team All-Pro in 2003.  Overall, he would play 63 Games for the Pats and secured 8 Interceptions with 441 Tackles.  

The induction of Rodney Harrison makes this the 29thmember of the Patriots Hall of Fame, which at we consider to be one of the best franchise Hall of Fames of the big four of North American sports.  Harrison beat out Richard Seymour and Mike Vrabel who were the other two finalists.

We here at would like to congratulate Rodney Harrison for earning this very prestigious honor.

Rodney Harrison believes there is a HOF bias against the Patriots

A bias against the New England Patriots by the Pro Football Hall of Fame?


According to Rodney Harrison, that is what is transpiring.

In a conversation with the Boston Globe, he had the following to say:

“It’s just unfortunate.  It’s almost a form of discrimination.  People don’t want to elevate us, or recognize or acknowledge how great we are because they’re such haters.  Everywhere I go, people hate on the Patriots.  So we don’t get credit.  All I hear is Tom and Bill.  But that’s such lazy analysis…

…I’m like, Ty Law was the greatest defensive back I’ve ever played with.  Richard Seymour, Willie McGinest, Troy Brown, Kevin Faulk, these dudes were bad, bad dudes.  They weren’t just system guys.  It’s unfair when people say (that).”

While the “hate” against the Patriots might be there, the Hall of Fame process for former Patriots is proceeding fairly based on the current system.

Harrison referred to Ty Law, who will be inducted this year into the Hall.  In terms of the Patriots dynasty (which is still ongoing), Richard Seymour is likely to get inducted soon.  Whether or not Harrison is referring to himself, he was a preliminary nominee, but has not made the Semi-Finals as of yet.  

The New England Patriots are still in the midst of a lengthy dynasty and when it is all said and done there will be a plethora of former Pats inducted into Canton.

Sorry, no bias!

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019 will be officially enshrined on August 1, 2019.


Subscribe to this RSS feed