Print this page

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announces the 2021 Finalists

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announces the 2021 Finalists
09 Mar
Not in Hall of Fame

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame has announced 14 Finalists for the Class of 2021, ten men and four women.

The North American Committee Finalists are:

Rick Adelman (Coach): Portland 1989-94, Golden State 1995-97, Sacramento 1999-06, Houston 2007-11 & Minnesota 2011-14.  A seven-year pro, Adelman went into coaching, first obtaining a Head Coaching role in the NBA with the Trail Blazers in 1989.  Adelman led Portland to two Western Conference Championships (1990 & 1992).  Last coaching in 2014, Adelman had a career record of 1,042-749, and is currently ninth all-time in wins.

Chris Bosh (Player):Toronto 2003-10 & Miami 2010-17. Bosh went to eleven consecutive All-Star Games (2006-16) and helped the Heat win two NBA Titles (2012 & 2013), and won Olympic Gold for the United States in 2008.  The former ACC Rookie of the Year has already had his number (1) retired by the Heat.  He was eligible last year, but was not nominated.  Ranked #2 on

Michael Cooper (Player): Los Angeles Lakers (1978-90).  The Shooting Guard for the “Showtime” Lakers, Cooper aided L.A. win five NBA Championships.  A defensive wizard, Cooper won the Defensive Player of the Year Award in 1987, and was five times part of the All-Defensive First Team roster. Ranked #33 on

Tim Hardaway (Player): Golden State (1989-96), Miami (1996-01), Dallas (2001-02), Denver (2002) & Indiana (2003).  Hardaway was a five-time All-Star and a First Team All-NBA Selection in 1997.  Also, a three-time Second Team Selection, Hardaway was a member of the 2000 Olympic Gold winning team for the United States.  Ranked #8 on

Marques Johnson (Player):  Milwaukee (1977-84), Los Angeles Clippers (1984-87) & Golden State (1989). Johnson went to five All-Star Games and in 1979 was a First Team All-Star.  An NCAA Champion and former College Player of the Year at UCLA, Johnson’s number was retired by both the Bruins and the Milwaukee Bucks.  Ranked #25 on

Paul Pierce (Player): Boston (1998-13), Brooklyn (2013-14), Washington (2014-15) & Los Angeles Clippers (2015-17).  A First Team All-American at Kansas, Pierce played 19 seasons, the first fifteen with the Celtics.  Pierce led Boston to the NBA Championship in 2008, where he was named the Finals MVP. Pierce’s number is retired by the Celtics and Jayhawks, and he is currently 19thall-time in Points. Ranked #1 on

Bill Russell (Coach): Boston (1966-69), Seattle (1973-77) & Sacramento (1987-88).  Russell is already inducted as a player (1975), and in 1966, he became the Celtics Player/Coach, becoming the first African-American Coach in the NBA.  Russell took the Celtics to his last two of eleven titles in that capacity, and had an overall record of 341-290.

Ben Wallace (Player):  Washington (1996-99), Orlando (1999-00), Detroit (2000-06), Chicago (2006-08), Cleveland (2008-09) & Detroit (2009-12).  Wallace brought the Pistons to an NBA Championship in 2004, and he was a four-time Defensive Player of the Year.  A two-time Rebounding Leader and one-time Blocking Leader, Wallace was also a four-time All-Star.  His number was retired by Detroit.  Ranked #4on 

Chris Webber (Player):  Golden State (1993-94), Washington (1994-98), Sacramento (1998-05), Philadelphia (2006-07), Detroit (2007) & Golden State (2008).  Webber was the leader of Michigan’s “Fab Five”, and was a Consensus All-American. Named the NBA Rookie of the Year, Webber was a five-time All-Star, and was a First Team All-NBA Selection in 2001.  Ranked #3 on

Jay Wright (Coach):  Hofstra 1994-01 & Villanova (2001-).  Wright, who is still the Head Coach at Villanova, has taken the Wildcats to two NCAA Championships and three Final Fours.  He was named by the Associated Press Coach of the Decade (2010s).  

The Women’s Committee Finalists are:

Leta Andrews (Coach): Tolar HS (1962-65), Gustine HS (1965-70), Comanche (1970-76), Granbury HS (1976-80), Calallen HS (1980-82) & Granbury (1992-14).  Andrews has an overall coaching record of 1,416-355, and has won more than any other coach in high school basketball.   Andrews is already in the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame.

Yolanda Griffith (Player):  Chicago (1998), Sacramento (1999-07), Seattle (2008) & Indiana (2009).  Griffith won the WNBA MVP and Defensive Player of the Year Award in 1999, and was an eight-time All-Star.  She also won the WNBA Title in 2005 with the Monarchs where she was also the Finals MVP.

Lauren Jackson (Player):  Seattle (2001-12).  Jackson was a three-time WNBA MVP and seven-time WNBA All-Star, and she also led the league in scoring three times.  Jackson also led Australia to three Olympic Silver Medals, one Olympic Bronze, and a World Championship Gold Medal in 2006.

Marianne Stanley (Coach):  Old Dominion (1977-87), Penn (1987-89), USC (1989-93), Stanford (1995-96), California (1996-2000), Washington WNBA (2002-03), Indiana WNBA (2020-).  Stanley took her teams to three Final Fours and brought Old Dominion to a NCAA Championship in 1985. 

The Class of 2021 will be announced at this year’s Final Four.

Please note that at present, we only rank male players.  This could change in the future.

The Class of 2021 ceremony is currently slated for September of this year.

We here at would like to congratulate the Finalists for the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.