Print this page

The International Tennis HOF announces their Finalists for 2021

The International Tennis HOF announces their Finalists for 2021
23 Sep
Not in Hall of Fame

The International Tennis Hall of Fame announced the nominees for the Class of 2021, and it consists of five former players, and two contributors.

The five player nominees are:

Jonas Bjorkman:  Bjorkman won six singles titles, but his real strength was on the doubles circuit where he won 54 championships including three Australian Opens (1998, 1999 & 2001), two French Opens (2005 & 2006), three Wimbledons (2002, 2003 & 2004) and one U.S. Open (2003).  Internationally, Bjorkman helped lead Sweden to three Davis Cup wins

Sergei Bruguera:  Bruguera won the French Open in 1993 and 1934 and he won the 1996 Silver Medal representing Spain in 1996.  Bruguera won 14 singles titles.

Juan Carlos Ferraro:  From Spain, Ferraro won the French Open in 2003 and was in the Finals in the U.S. Open the same year.  Ferraro won 16 Singles Titles and led Spain to three Davis Cups (2000, 2004 & 2009).

Lleyton Hewitt:  After winning the 2001 U.S. Open, 20-year-old Lleyton Hewitt made history as the youngest tennis player to be ranked #1.  He would later win the 2002 Wimbledon, and he captured 30 ATP Championships.  The Australian would also lead his country to two Davis Cup Championships (1999 & 2002).

Lisa Raymond:  Raymond was a doubles specialist who won the Australian Open (2000), French Open (2006), Wimbledon (2001) and U.S. Open (2001, 2005 & 2011).  She also won in Mixed Doubles at the French Open (2003), Wimbledon (1999 & 2012) and U.S. Open (1996 & 2002).  Representing the United States, Raymond was a Bronze Medalist at the 2012 London Games.

The Contributor Nominees are:

The Original 9 – Peaches Bartkowicz, Rosie Casais, Judy Tegart Dalton, Julie Heldman, Billie Jean King, Kristy Pigeon, Kerry Melville Reid, Nancy Richey & Valerie Ziegenfuss:  50 years ago, they created their own non-sanctioned event, which was a costly risk considering they would be no longer eligible for rankings, Grand Slams or playing on their national team.  It led to the Virginia Slims Tournament and pay equity in the sport.

Dennis Van der Meer: Van der Meer was a junior player who became a very successful coach.  He would standardize teaching methods and create his own Tennis University.

To be elected into the Hall, a candidate must receive an affirmative vote of 75%.  The Class of 2021 will be announced in early 2021, with the Induction Ceremony scheduled for July 17.

We here at would like to congratulate the Nominees for making it to this stage.  

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.