We have announced our 2018 Fictitious Athlete Hall of Fame Class!

We have announced our 2018 Fictitious Athlete Hall of Fame Class!
03 Jan
Not in Hall of Fame

The Class of 2018 of our Fictitious Athlete Hall of Fame has been announced!

After a one year vote, California karate star, Daniel LaRusso, former Rockford Peach, Dottie Hinson and NFL star turned inmate, Paul “Wrecking” Crewe” have been named to the Hall.

They join Bobby Boucher (The Waterboy), Forrest Gump (Forrest Gump), Willie “Mays” Hayes (Major League), Apollo Creed (Rocky), Benny “The Jet” Rodriguez, Charlie Conway (The Mighty Ducks), The Hanson Brothers (Slap Shot), Reggie Dunlop (Slap Shot), Happy Gilmore (Happy Gilmore), Ricky “Wild Thing” Vaughn (Major League), Crash Davis (Bull Durham), Roy Hobbs (The Natural) and Rocky Balboa, the inaugural inductee.

Little League Coach, Morris Buttermaker enters as a contributor and Huxley College (The Marx Brothers) enters in the Veteran’s category.

Every year since the Hall’s inception Daniel LaRusso (Ralph Macchio) has been a Finalist and this year he finally broke through as the leading vote getter.  The winner of the 1984 All-Valley Karate Tournament is getting a new look in the YouTube program, Cobra Kai.  

Dottie Hinson becomes the first female to enter the Fictitious Athlete Hall of Fame.  Hinson (Geena Davis) played one season in the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League and the Catcher was clearly the best player not only on her team but in the league.  This is the first induction from the movie, “A League of Their Own”.

From the original Longest Yard in 1974, Paul “Wrecking” Crewe went from the NFL to the prison football in what was the arguably the grittiest sports movie of the 1970’s.  Reynolds, who died earlier this year may have received some sympathy votes as none of his many characters have ever finished in the top ten in voting before. 

Morris Buttermaker was a former Pitcher turned down and out little league coach/pool cleaner. Portrayed by Walter Matthau, this was in the original (and by far the best) Bad News Bears and he is the first from the franchise to get inducted.                         

The legendary Marx Brothers enter for their work on the College Football farce, Horse Feathers.

Voting has now begun on the 2019 Class and the Preliminary Nominees are now up.

You can find them here.

When you can, please support our site and cast your vote for the Class of 2019!

The Fictitious Athlete Hall of Fame, along with its sister site, The Fictitious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is part of Notinhalloffame.com, a pop culture/sports website that first launched in 2009.

Tagged under
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code