The Cornhuskers Athletic HOF announced their 2018 Class

The Cornhuskers Athletic HOF announced their 2018 Class
10 Apr
Not in Hall of Fame

The University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame has announced their seven member class for their Class of 2018 which will consist of five former student athletes and two very well known coaches.

The class consists of:

Darin Erstad: Baseball 1993-95 & Football 1994. The future two-time MLB All-Star would be a Finalist for the Golden Spikes Award in his senior year where he batted .410 and would become the first Cornhusker to be named the Conference Player of the Year. Erstad would also notably be the Punter on the 1994 Championship Football Team.

Peaches James: Softball 2001-04. James was the first four time first team All-Conference selection and was also a former finalist for the National Player of the Year.

Sarah Pavan: Volleyball 2004-07. From Canada, Pavan is a two time National Academic All-American of the Year, to date the only one to accomplish such a feat.

Mike Rozier: Football 1981-83. The two time Pro Bowl Running Back would win the coveted Heisman Trophy in 1983. The Cornhuskers would lose by one point in the 1984 Orange Bowl in the defacto Championship Game.

Tom Schlesinger: Gymnastics 1985-88. Schlesinger would become the first Nebraska gymnast to be an Academic All-American. He would also become an Olympian.

Bob Devaney: Head Football Coach 1962-72 & Athletic Director 1967-92. Devaney was the Head Coach for the Huskers from 1962 to 1972 and he would win the National Championship back-to-back in 1970 and 1971. He would also win eight Big Eight Titles. He served as the AD from 1967 to 1992.

Tom Osborne: Head Football Coach 1973-97 & Athletic Director 2007-13.   Osborne was an Assistant Coach for Nebraska from 1964 to 1968 and would later be the Offensive Coordinator from 1969 to 1972. He would than be hired by Devaney to replace him as the new Head Coach and he would take the Cornhuskers to three National Championships (1994, 1995 & 1997). Like Devaney he would become the Athletic Director in 2007 after being the Assistant AD for over a decade.

Devaney and Osborne become the first coaches to enter the Hall.

This group becomes the fourth class to the Hall.

We here at would like to congratulate the newest members of the University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame.

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Three ways to comment:

1) Login with your social account:

2) Register an account with us:

Click here!
Benefits of Registering

1) Comment on articles without restriction!  No more captchas or spam-filters!

2) Have your say!  Make your voice heard by voting in the polls.

3) Discuss in the forum.  Join the conversation, or start your own.

4) Start a social group or fan club.  Join one that already exists.  Share photos, events, updates, private messages and more with people who have similar i

5) Customize your profile to make it your personal space on the web.

3) Or post as a guest:

Security code