Jack Morris & Alan Trammell chosen for the Baseball Hall of Fame

Jack Morris & Alan Trammell chosen for the Baseball Hall of Fame
10 Dec
Not in Hall of Fame
The 1984 World Series Champion Detroit Tigers finally have player representation in the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Actually, they now have two.

The Modern Era Baseball Committee have selected both Jack Morris and Alan Trammell, who have both received the necessary 75% of the 16 man committee required to have entered Cooperstown.

Jack Morris won 254 Games over an 18 year career with the Detroit Tigers, Minnesota Twins, Toronto Blue Jays and Cleveland Indians, the first three of which saw him win World Series Championships with. Morris was the ace of the 1984 Tigers team, and was a key member of the Blue Jays back-to-back titles in 1992 & 1993, but it was his performance in Game 7 of the 1991 World Series with the Minnesota Twins where he pitched ten innings of shutout baseball to win the game. Morris didn’t always have the best statistics but when it was a big game, he was definitely a go-to pitcher.

Morris’ teammate from the ’84 Tigers, Alan Trammell also got in. The Shortstop played his entire career with the Tigers and was a six time All Star. Trammell was a four time Silver Slugger, three time Gold Glove recipient and was the runner-up for the 1987 AL MVP.

Steve Garvey, Don Mattingly, Marvin Miller, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Ted Simmons and Luis Tiant were also on the ballot, however not chosen.

Morris and Trammell will be removed from next year’s Notinhalloffame.com Baseball list and we look forward to few weeks to see whom else the Baseball Writers of American will induct with them.

We here at Notinhalloffame.com would like to congratulate both Alan Trammell and Jack Morris at this time.
Last modified on Monday, 11 December 2017 00:11
Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


0 #1 Darryl Tahirali 2017-12-11 20:10
One out of two is not bad. Alan Trammell was building a SABR case by the time he exited the BBWAA ballot, and that momentum apparently got transferred to the Modern Baseball Committee. At least Trammell is very much alive to be most deservedly inducted next year.

I'm not surprised that Jack Morris was elected. He too was building his case when he ran out of time on the BBWAA ballot. And if you think that the Hall needs to have the Catfish Hunter of the 1980s inducted, then Morris is your man. Historically , the veterans committee has chosen several mediocre pitchers from time to time. This is one of those times.

Add comment

Security code