The New England Patriots Name their Finalists for their HOF

The New England Patriots Name their Finalists for their HOF
22 Apr
Not in Hall of Fame
As most regular visitors to are aware of, we are in the (very) slow process of working on the top 50 players for every major sports team (MLB, NHL, NFL & NBA).  After that, the intent is to look how each one of those organizations treat their former players and executives in term of retired numbers, franchise Halls of Fame etc. 

As such, it is significant news to us that the New England Patriots Hall of Fame has selected three former players as Finalists for the 2017 Hall of Fame Class.

Raymond Clayborn is a Finalist for the fourth year in a row.  Clayborn was drafted out of the University of Texas in the First Round in 1977 and would play for them until 1989.  He would named to three Pro Bowls (1983, 1985 & 1986) and recorded 36 Interceptions over 191 Games for New England.

Mike Vrabel makes his second straight appearance as a Finalist.  Vrabel was signed as a Free Agent in 2001, and after making minimal impact in four years with the Pittsburgh Steelers, became a starting Linebacker with the Pats.  He would help New England win three Super Bowls and over 125 Games would record 11 Interceptions and 48 Sacks for the team.

Richard Seymour is a Finalist for the first time.  Seymour was drafted 6th Overall in 2001 and like Vrabel, also was part of a defensive unit that would win three Super Bowls.  A Patriot for the first eight of his twelve years in the NFL, the Defensive End played 111 Games and had 39 Sacks.  He would be named to the Pro Bowl every year from 2002 to 2006 and was also a three time First Team All Pro.

It is noteworthy that fans of the Patriots can go on line at and cast their votes.  Whoever is chosen will be the 26th member of what we feel has become one of the most prestigious franchise Halls of Fame.  That inductee will be revealed in Mid-May.

You better believe we are excited to see who that will be!

Committee Chairman

Kirk Buchner, "The Committee Chairman", is the owner and operator of the site.  Kirk can be contacted at [email protected] . Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Add comment

Security code